You are here: Home » Bernard Who?

Bernard Who?

  • Bernard Who?
    Bernard Who?
    Product ID: 9781472130167
    Category: Books
    Description: ' Essential' DAILY MAIL CELEBRITY BIOGRAPHIES OF THE YEAR' The book reads like it's Bernard sitting down and telling a story' Steve Wright, BBC Radio 2' A fitting celebration of one of our most versatile and enduring acting talents' Sunday Express' A rollicking good read - charming, unassuming and full of amiable, homespun wit' The Oldie The long-awaited autobiography of national treasure Bernard Cribbins. Bernard Cribbins's life has been an eventful one. In 1943, he left school aged fourteen and joined Oldham Repertory Company where he earned fifteen bob for a seventy-hour week. After being called up for National Service in 1946 he became a paratrooper and spent several months in Palestine being shot at. On returning home, and to the theatre, Bernard was eventually approached by George Martin, then an A& R man for Parlophone Records, who suggested he made a record. Just months away from producing The Beatles, Martin asked Bernard to come to Abbey Road Studios in north London and, after teaching him how to sing into a microphone, they eventually recorded two hit singles - ' The Hole in the Ground' and ' Right Said Fred'. These, together with appearances in now classic films such as Two Way Stretch and The Wrong Arm of the Law (not to mention a certain television programme called Jackanory), catapulted Bernard to stardom and, by the time he started filming The Railway Children in 1970, he was already a national treasure. Since then, Bernard's CV has been an A- Z of the best entertainment that Britain has to offer, and, thanks to programmes such as the aforementioned Jackanory, The Wombles, and, more recently, Old Jack's Boat, he has become the voice of many millions of childhoods. Seventy-five years in the making and packed with entertaining anecdotes, Bernard Who? tells the wonderful story of one of the longest and most celebrated careers in show business.
    Delivery cost: 0.00
    ISBN: 9781472130167
    Price: £14.99
    Shop best deal
    Waterstones
    Waterstones
    Review this store

Add a Review/Comment

0 1 2 3 4 5

captcha security code

* Must be complete

 

Similar Products

Magnify Not Now  Bernard X 6
Not Now  Bernard X 6

Not Now Bernard X 6


Category: Books
Description: Whatever Bernard says to Mum and Dad, the answer's always the same: Not now, Bernard! So how can he tell them that there's a hungry monster in the garden and it wants to eat him? #bookpacks-0816 #reading-spine-year-2 #reading3for2 #pie3for2 #rbmember #summer-18 #sum-18 #sum-18-ie #piecorbettreadingspine #pm19-offer
ISBN: 9789951119986
Review this product
 
Scholastic
Review this store
Scholastic
Product ID: 104630
 
£37.75
 
Shop best deal
Magnify Not Now  Bernard X 30
Not Now  Bernard X 30

Not Now Bernard X 30


Category: Books
Description: Whatever Bernard says to Mum and Dad, the answer's always the same: Not now, Bernard! So how can he tell them that there's a hungry monster in the garden and it wants to eat him? #bookpacks-0816 #reading-spine-year-2 #reading3for2 #pie3for2 #rbmember #summer-18 #sum-18 #sum-18-ie #piecorbettreadingspine #pm19-offer
ISBN: 9789951112321
Review this product
 
Scholastic
Review this store
Scholastic
Product ID: 104587
 
£178.00
 
Shop best deal
Magnify Be More Bernard
Be More Bernard

Be More Bernard


Category: Books
Description: Perfect for fans of Jim Field and Julia Donaldson, Be More Bernard is the brilliant story of a disco bunny who will encourage us all to chase our dreams and embrace our differences. When the other bunnies bounced, I bounced. When they hopped, I hopped. When they slept, I did too. Like them, I dreamed. But MY dreams weren't the same. They were less . . . rabbity. Bernard has decided that he's not going to be like all the other bunnies any more. He's not going to twitch his nose and prick his ears. And while others might dream of carrots, Bernard's dreams are altogether more...disco! He starts small, but when he finally gets to groove with grace and jive with joy at Bertie and Brenda's Bunny Ball, Bernard shows the world that being yourself is the very best thing a bunny can be.
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9781471164620
Review this product
 
Waterstones
Review this store
Waterstones
Product ID: 9781471164620
 
£6.99
 
Shop best deal
Magnify Mexico Set
Mexico Set

Mexico Set


Category: Books
Description: Long-awaited reissue of the second part of the classic spy trilogy, GAME, SET and MATCH, when the Berlin Wall divided not just a city but a world. A lot of people had plans for Bernard Samson... When they spotted Erich Stinnes in Mexico City, it was obvious that Bernard Samson was the right man to `enrol' him. With his domestic life a shambles and his career heading towards disaster, Bernard needed to prove his reliability. and he knew Stinnes already - Bernard had been interrogated by him in East Berlin. But Bernard risks being entangled in a lethal web of old loyalties and old betrayals. All he knows for sure is that he has to get Erich Stinnes for London. Who's pulling the strings is another matter...
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9780008124991
Review this product
 
Waterstones
Review this store
Waterstones
Product ID: 9780008124991
 
£9.99
 
Shop best deal