You are here: Home » Downton Abbey: Series 1-5

Downton Abbey: Series 1-5

  • Downton Abbey: Series 1-5
    Downton Abbey: Series 1-5
    Product ID: 5053083014803
    Category: Childrens Fiction And Narratives
    Description: A global sensation from ITV starring Hugh Bonneville, Dan Stevens and Jessica Brown- Findlay, Downton Abbey is a terrific drama all about an English stately home during the early 20th century - and this box set contains the first five series and all the specials from this time! Looking at the lives and loves of those above and below stairs, the show follows the Grantham family, the long-time custodians of Downton Abbey, who face a crisis when their heir to the estate dies on the Titanic. Robert Crawley's three daughters are unable to inherit the house by law so he must find a suitable husband for his eldest daughter to keep their home... As the series progresses, acting legends like Maggie Smith and Shirley Maclaine join the programme as a battle of the classes ensues. Meanwhile, mass unemployment, political upheaval and economic crisis threaten the social order of the day as the family and staff of Downton Abbey attempt to adjust to life in a changing world. Buy DVDs and Blu-rays online from the Book People, where you'll find the latest releases, family favourites and classic adaptations.
    Delivery time: 3 - 5 working days
    Delivery cost: 0.00
    Author: Gardners Books
    Price: £63.99
    More info »
    The Book People
    The Book People
    Review this store

Add a Review/Comment

0 1 2 3 4 5

captcha security code

* Must be complete

 

Similar Products

Magnify Lady Catherine And The Real Downton Abbey
Lady Catherine And The Real Downton Abbey

Lady Catherine And The Real Downton Abbey


Category: 20th Century 1914 To 1945 49
Description: Sometimes the facts are even more extraordinary than the fiction... This book tells the story of Lady Catherine, a beautiful American girl who became the chatelaine of Highclere Castle, the setting for Julian Fellowes' award-winning drama Downton Abbey. Charming and charismatic, Catherine caught the eye of Lord Porchester (or ' Porchey', as he was known) when she was just 20 years old, and wearing a pale yellow dress at a ball. She had already turned down 14 proposals before she eventually married Porchey in 1922. But less than a year later Porchey's father died suddenly, and he became the 6th Earl of Carnarvon, inheriting a title and a Castle that changed both their lives forever. Catherine found herself suddenly in charge of a small army of household staff, and hosting lavish banquets and weekend house parties. Although the couple were very much in love, considerable challenges lay ahead for Catherine. They were immediately faced with the task of saving Highclere when debts threatened to destroy the estate. As the 1920s moved to a close, Catherine's adored brother died and she began to lose her husband to the distractions London had to offer. When the Second World War broke out, life at the Castle would never be the same again. Drawing on rich material from the private archives at Highclere, including beautiful period photographs, the current Countess of Carnarvon transports us back to the thrilling and alluring world of the 'real Downton Abbey' and its inhabitants.
Delivery time: 3 - 5 working days
Delivery cost: 2.95
Author: The Countess of Carnarvon
Review this product
 
The Book People
Review this store
The Book People
Product ID: 9781444762129
 
£10.89
 
More info »
Magnify One Last Dance
One Last Dance

One Last Dance


Category: Novels Narratives Anthologies
Description: For fans of Downton Abbey and MY LAST DUCHESS...' Times change, and sometimes for the better...' As the twentieth century draws to a close, Esme Reddaway knows that she must uncover the truth. A truth that began during the First World War when Devlin Reddaway fell passionately in love with Esme's elder sister, Camilla, and promised to rebuild his ancestral home, Rosindell, for her. But the war changes everything and Devlin returns to England to find that Camilla is engaged to someone else. Angry and vengeful, he marries Esme, who has been secretly in love with him for years. Esme tries to win Devlin's heart by reviving the annual summer dance. But as the years pass she fears that Rosindell has a malign influence on those who live there, and the revelation of a shocking secret on the night of the dance at Rosindell tears her life apart. Decades later, it is she who must lay the ghosts of Rosindell to rest. Spanning the last century, Esme's story of sibling rivalry, heartbreak, betrayal and forgiveness is sure to appeal to fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Downton Abbey.
Delivery time: 3 - 5 working days
Delivery cost: 2.95
Author: Judith Lennox
Review this product
 
The Book People
Review this store
The Book People
Product ID: 9780755384143
 
£8.89
 
More info »
Magnify A Killer Ball At Honeychurch Hall
A Killer Ball At Honeychurch Hall

A Killer Ball At Honeychurch Hall


Category: Detective Novels
Description: In this delightful new mystery our heroine Kat Stanford stumbles upon a hidden room in an abandoned wing at Honeychurch Hall. However, Kat's initial excitement soon ends in horror. There, lying on the cold, stone floor, Kat comes across the body of a young woman dressed in an Egyptian toga and wearing a tawdry fairground trinket around her broken neck. Suspicion falls on some of those who live at the Hall - both upstairs and down - and even those who are just had been passing through. Matters come to a head as a killer lurks amid the aristocracy ... Downton Abbey fans will want more Killer Balls at Honeychurch Hall. Praise for Hannah Dennison: The perfect classic English village mystery but with the addition of charm, wit and a thoroughly modern touch. ( Rhys Bowen) Downton Abbey was yesterday. Murder at Honeychurch Hall lifts the lid on today's grand country estate in all its tarnished, scheming, inbred, deranged glory. ( Catriona Mc Pherson) A fun read ( Carola Dunn) Sparkles like a glass of Devon cider on a summer afternoon. ( Elizabeth Duncan)
Delivery time: 3 - 5 working days
Delivery cost: 2.95
Author: Hannah Dennison
Review this product
 
The Book People
Review this store
The Book People
Product ID: 9781472123787
 
£7.19
 
More info »
Magnify Easterleigh Hall
Easterleigh Hall

Easterleigh Hall


Category: Novels Narratives Anthologies
Description: This is a compelling new series set in County Durham just before the First World War. It is perfect for fans of Longbourn and Downton Abbey. When Evie Forbes starts as an assistant cook at Easterleigh Hall, she goes against her family's wishes. For ruthless Lord Brampton also owns the mine where Evie's father and brothers work and there is animosity between the two families. But Evie is determined to better herself. And her training at the hall offers her a way out of a life below stairs. Evie works hard and gains a valued place in the household. And her dream of running a small hotel grows ever closer. Then War is declared and all their lives are thrown into turmoil.
Delivery time: 3 - 5 working days
Delivery cost: 2.95
Author: Margaret Graham
Review this product
 
The Book People
Review this store
The Book People
Product ID: 9780099586838
 
£6.79
 
More info »