You are here: Home » Downton Abbey: Series 1-5

Downton Abbey: Series 1-5

  • Downton Abbey: Series 1-5
    Downton Abbey: Series 1-5
    Product ID: 5053083014803
    Category: Childrens Fiction And Narratives
    Description: A global sensation from ITV starring Hugh Bonneville, Dan Stevens and Jessica Brown- Findlay, Downton Abbey is a terrific drama all about an English stately home during the early 20th century - and this box set contains the first five series and all the specials from this time! Looking at the lives and loves of those above and below stairs, the show follows the Grantham family, the long-time custodians of Downton Abbey, who face a crisis when their heir to the estate dies on the Titanic. Robert Crawley's three daughters are unable to inherit the house by law so he must find a suitable husband for his eldest daughter to keep their home... As the series progresses, acting legends like Maggie Smith and Shirley Maclaine join the programme as a battle of the classes ensues. Meanwhile, mass unemployment, political upheaval and economic crisis threaten the social order of the day as the family and staff of Downton Abbey attempt to adjust to life in a changing world. Buy DVDs and Blu-rays online from the Book People, where you'll find the latest releases, family favourites and classic adaptations.
    Delivery time: 3 - 5 working days
    Delivery cost: 0.00
    Author: Gardners Books
    Price: £63.99
    More info »
    The Book People
    The Book People
    Review this store

Add a Review/Comment

0 1 2 3 4 5

captcha security code

* Must be complete

 

Similar Products

Magnify Lady Catherine And The Real Downton Abbey
Lady Catherine And The Real Downton Abbey

Lady Catherine And The Real Downton Abbey


Category: 20th Century 1914 To 1945 49
Description: Sometimes the facts are even more extraordinary than the fiction... This book tells the story of Lady Catherine, a beautiful American girl who became the chatelaine of Highclere Castle, the setting for Julian Fellowes' award-winning drama Downton Abbey. Charming and charismatic, Catherine caught the eye of Lord Porchester (or ' Porchey', as he was known) when she was just 20 years old, and wearing a pale yellow dress at a ball. She had already turned down 14 proposals before she eventually married Porchey in 1922. But less than a year later Porchey's father died suddenly, and he became the 6th Earl of Carnarvon, inheriting a title and a Castle that changed both their lives forever. Catherine found herself suddenly in charge of a small army of household staff, and hosting lavish banquets and weekend house parties. Although the couple were very much in love, considerable challenges lay ahead for Catherine. They were immediately faced with the task of saving Highclere when debts threatened to destroy the estate. As the 1920s moved to a close, Catherine's adored brother died and she began to lose her husband to the distractions London had to offer. When the Second World War broke out, life at the Castle would never be the same again. Drawing on rich material from the private archives at Highclere, including beautiful period photographs, the current Countess of Carnarvon transports us back to the thrilling and alluring world of the 'real Downton Abbey' and its inhabitants.
Delivery time: 3 - 5 working days
Delivery cost: 2.95
Author: The Countess of Carnarvon
Review this product
 
The Book People
Review this store
The Book People
Product ID: 9781444762129
 
£9.79
 
More info »
Magnify Lady Almina And The Real Downton Abbey
Lady Almina And The Real Downton Abbey

Lady Almina And The Real Downton Abbey


Category: History
Description: Lady Fiona Carnarvon became the chatelaine of Highclere Castle - the setting of the hit series Downton Abbey - eight years ago. In that time she's become fascinated by the rich history of Highclere, and by the extraordinary people who lived there over the centuries. One person particularly captured Fiona's imagination - Lady Almina, the 5th Countess of Carnarvon. Almina was the illegitimate daughter of banking tycoon Alfred de Rothschild. She was his only daughter and he doted on her. She married the 5th Earl of Carnarvon, at 19, with an enormous dowry. At first, life at Highclere was a dizzying mix of sumptuous banquets for 500 and even the occasional royal visitor. Almina oversaw 80 members of staff - many of whom came from families who had worked at Highclere for generations. But when the First World War broke out, life at Highclere changed forever. History intervened and Almina and the staff of Highclere were thrown into one of the most turbulent times of the last century. Almina was forced to draw on her deepest reserves of courage in order to ensure her family, the staff and the castle survived. This is the remarkable story of a lost time. But Highclere remains and in this book, Fiona weaves Almina's journey and those of her family into the heritage and history of one of England's most exquisite Victorian castles.
Delivery time: 3 - 5 working days
Delivery cost: 2.95
Author: Countess of Carnarvon
Review this product
 
The Book People
Review this store
The Book People
Product ID: 9781444730821
 
£19.89
 
More info »
Magnify Easterleigh Hall
Easterleigh Hall

Easterleigh Hall


Category: Novels Narratives Anthologies
Description: This is a compelling new series set in County Durham just before the First World War. It is perfect for fans of Longbourn and Downton Abbey. When Evie Forbes starts as an assistant cook at Easterleigh Hall, she goes against her family's wishes. For ruthless Lord Brampton also owns the mine where Evie's father and brothers work and there is animosity between the two families. But Evie is determined to better herself. And her training at the hall offers her a way out of a life below stairs. Evie works hard and gains a valued place in the household. And her dream of running a small hotel grows ever closer. Then War is declared and all their lives are thrown into turmoil.
Delivery time: 3 - 5 working days
Delivery cost: 2.95
Author: Margaret Graham
Review this product
 
The Book People
Review this store
The Book People
Product ID: 9780099586838
 
£5.89
 
More info »
Magnify The Downstairs Maid
The Downstairs Maid

The Downstairs Maid


Category: Novels Narratives Anthologies
Description: She is a servant girl... When her father becomes ill, Emily Carter finds herself sent into service at Priorsfield Manor in order to provide the family with an income. He will be the Lord of the Manor... Emily strikes up an unlikely friendship with the daughters of the house, as well as Nicolas, son of the Earl. But as the threat of war comes ever closer, she becomes even more aware of the vast differences between upstairs and downstairs, servant and master... If you like Downton Abbey you'll love this!
Delivery time: 3 - 5 working days
Delivery cost: 2.95
Author: Rosie Clarke
Review this product
 
The Book People
Review this store
The Book People
Product ID: 9780091956097
 
£6.39
 
More info »