You are here: Home » Flint Knapping

Flint Knapping

  • Flint Knapping
    Flint Knapping
    Product ID: 9780752488745
    Category: Books
    Description: Flint knapping, which is the shaping of flint or other fracturing stone to manufacture tools, was one of the primary skills used for survival by our prehistoric ancestors. Early mankind once made and used these implements on a daily basis to hunt, prepare food and clothing, to farm, make shelters, and perform all the other tasks required for Stone Age existence. A material that has been with us since earliest times, flint still plays a part in our lives today: it is used in cigarette, gas and barbeque lighters; in some parts of Britain it is a major building material; and many of our beaches have shingle which is just flint by another name. In this informative and original guide, expert Robert Turner explains how flint was used, what tools were made and what they were made for, and provides detailed instruction of how to make them, enabling the reader to replicate their own Stone Age toolkit. Illustrated throughout, Flint Knapping is a journey of archaeological discovery through the Palaeolithic, Mesolithic, Neolithic and Bronze Ages.
    Delivery cost: 0.00
    ISBN: 9780752488745
    Price: £12.99
    Shop best deal
    Waterstones
    Waterstones
    Review this store

Add a Review/Comment

0 1 2 3 4 5

captcha security code

* Must be complete

 

Similar Products

Magnify Prehistoric Flintwork
Prehistoric Flintwork

Prehistoric Flintwork


Category: Books
Description: Flint was a vitally important resource for prehistoric societies who put it to a diverse range of uses. Chris Butler has created a concise guide to recognising and categorising British prehistoric flintwork. The author begins by looking at the different sources of flint that were exploited by prehistoric peoples, and explains why flint was such a widely used raw material. He then discusses how to recognise prehistoric worked flint and explores the different technologies that were used to work flint and make tools. Flintknapping techniques used in each period of prehistory are illustrated, along with detailed techniques used in each period of prehistory are illustrated, along with detailed descriptions of the variety of implements produced and their associated diagnostic waste material. The flintwork from a number of case-study sites and the eventual decline in the importance of flint. The book also explores what the analysis of flintwork can tell us about society and past use of the landscape.
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9780752433400
Review this product
 
Waterstones
Review this store
Waterstones
Product ID: 9780752433400
 
£19.99
 
Shop best deal
Magnify Skull And Bones
Skull And Bones

Skull And Bones


Category: Books
Description: The third in the rip-roaring adventure series of Treasure Island prequels for fans of Pirates of the Caribbean and Flashman When infamous 'gentleman of fortune' Captain Flint is captured by the Royal Navy and condemned to hang for mutiny and piracy, it seems that the secret location of his buried treasure will die with him. But Flint has an audacious plan to gain command of ship and crew before they reach London and escape the hangman's noose. Meanwhile, aboard Flint's former vessel The Walrus, Long John Silver seeks one final prize before retiring from privateering. However his wife Selena has jumped ship to pursue a career on the London stage - only to fall into a trap - so Silver must give chase to save the woman he loves. Once more Flint and Silver's paths are converging ... and it will bring them a vast fortune or certain death.
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9780007268993
Review this product
 
Waterstones
Review this store
Waterstones
Product ID: 9780007268993
 
£9.99
 
Shop best deal
Magnify Pieces Of Eight
Pieces Of Eight

Pieces Of Eight


Category: Books
Description: The second in the rip-roaring adventure series of ` Treasure Island' prequels for fans of ` Pirates of the Caribbean' Once comrades-in-arms, now sworn enemies, Joseph Flint and Long John Silver have a score to settle. Marooned on a remote Caribbean island with his loyal crew and a fortune in buried treasure, Silver awaits the return of the man who left him there. In order to defeat Silver and claim the island back as his, Flint will need to raise an army - no easy feat for the man most wanted by the Royal Navy. But with disease running rampant on the Island and the net closing on Flint, time is running out for both men. But who will survive - and who will get the gold?
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9780007268962
Review this product
 
Waterstones
Review this store
Waterstones
Product ID: 9780007268962
 
£9.99
 
Shop best deal
Magnify Popcorn Elt Primary Readers Level 2: Cloudy With A Chance Of Meatballs 2 (book Only)
Popcorn Elt Primary Readers Level 2: Cloudy With A Chance Of Meatballs 2 (book Only)

Popcorn Elt Primary Readers Level 2: Cloudy With A Chance Of Meatballs 2 (book Only)


Category: Books
Description: Inventor Flint Lockwood thought he saved the world when he destroyed his food machine. But Flint soon learns that his invention survived and is now combining food and animals to create foodimals! Join Flint and his friends as they embark on a mission to save the world again! Based on the popular film Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2. Level 2 For children gaining confidence in reading in English. This series builds on reading stamina with the average word count of every book at around 800 words. Up to 250 unique headwords are included throughout. #elt17 #popcornelt #eltreaders #summer-18 #sum-18 #sum-18-ie #pm19-offer
ISBN: 9781910173299
Review this product
 
Scholastic
Review this store
Scholastic
Product ID: 98212
 
£4.90
 
Shop best deal