Home Cooking By Laurie Colwin

  • Home Cooking By Laurie Colwin
    Home Cooking By Laurie Colwin
    Product ID: 9780307474414
    Category: Books
    Description: A unique feast for body and soul, Home Cooking shares the delightful pleasures of discovering cooking and eating good, simple food.
    Delivery cost: 0.00
    ISBN: 9780307474414
    Price: £11.14
    Shop best deal
    The Book Depository
    The Book Depository
    Review this store

Add a Review/Comment

0 1 2 3 4 5

captcha security code

* Must be complete

 

Similar Products

Magnify Home Cooking
Home Cooking

Home Cooking


Category: Books
Description: Published for the first time in the UK, Laurie Colwin's much loved kitchen essays are perfect for fans of Nigella Lawson and Nigel Slater. Weaving together memories, recipes, and wild tales of years spent in the kitchen, Home Cooking is Laurie Colwin's manifesto on the joys of sharing food and entertaining. From the humble hot-plate of her one-room apartment to the crowded kitchens of bustling parties, Colwin regales us with tales of meals gone both magnificently well and disastrously wrong. Never before published in the UK, this is hilarious, personal and full of Colwin's hard-won expertise. Home Cooking will speak to the heart (and stomach) of any amateur cook, professional chef, or food lover. Praise for Laurie Colwin:' Everything food writing should be: funny, profound, inspiring and unaffected' Nigella Lawson' I have in my kitchen a book called Home Cooking. And, in between following the recipes for Extremely Easy Old- Fashioned Beef Stew or Estelle Colwin Snellenberg's Potato Pancakes, I would frequently sit down on a little stool in my kitchen and read through one of the essays in that book. I never read through Joy of Cooking, and I can read The Silver Palate Cookbook standing up, but I always sat down to read these' Anna Quindlen Laurie Colwin is the author of five novels - Happy All the Time, Family Happiness, Goodbye Without Leaving, A Big Storm Knocked It Over and Shine On, Bright and Dangerous Object - three collections of short stories - Passion and Affect, The Lone Pilgrim and Another Marvellous Thing - and two collections of essays, Home Cooking and More Home Cooking. Laurie Colwin died in 1992.
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9780241145715
Review this product
 
Waterstones
Review this store
Waterstones
Product ID: 9780241145715
 
£12.99
 
Shop best deal
Magnify The Hidden Room
The Hidden Room

The Hidden Room


Category: Books
Description: What secrets is she keeping in the hidden room...? Life is good for Laurie and Martha. They have a beautiful home in the fens, three great kids. Laurie's career as an architect has suddenly taken off. But when a stranger arrives in town, things begin to go wrong. Martha feels resentful of Laurie's success. Teenage daughter Hope becomes withdrawn and obsessive. And Laurie can do nothing. Because this isn't a stranger. She knows this man all too well - and what he's capable of. He's come back for her. And if she tells anyone the truth - she will lose everything.
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9780349007908
Review this product
 
Waterstones
Review this store
Waterstones
Product ID: 9780349007908
 
£8.99
 
Shop best deal
Magnify Laurie Lee: A Folio
Laurie Lee: A Folio

Laurie Lee: A Folio


Category: Books
Description: Published to co-incide with the centenary celebrations of Laurie Lee's birth, this is a beautiful folio of artwork by Laurie which has never been seen before.
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9781906509958
Review this product
 
Waterstones
Review this store
Waterstones
Product ID: 9781906509958
 
£24.99
 
Shop best deal
Magnify As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning By Laurie Lee
As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning By Laurie Lee

As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning By Laurie Lee


Category: Books
Description: The stooping figure of my mother, waist-deep in the grass and caught there like a piece of sheep's wool, was the last I saw of my country home as I left it to discover the world' Abandoning the Cotswolds village that raised him, the young Laurie Lee walks to London. There he makes a living labouring and playing the violin.
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9780241953280
Review this product
 
The Book Depository
Review this store
The Book Depository
Product ID: 9780241953280
 
£4.07
 
Shop best deal