You are here: Home » The Orphans Dream

The Orphans Dream

  • The Orphans Dream
    The Orphans Dream
    Product ID: 9780099574972
    Category: Books
    Description: The heartwarming and nostalgic new novel from the Sunday Times Top Ten bestselling author of The Beggar Maid. Motherless since she was five, Mirabel Cutler was raised by her father to be a lady. But when he dies suddenly, Mirabel finds herself cast out on the street by her ruthless stepmother. She is taken to a place of refuge by charismatic sea captain, Jack Starke. But the safe haven turns out to be a house of ill-repute. Here she becomes a parlour maid and catches the eye of an elderly, retired army officer, Hubert Kettle. Mirabel has fallen in love with Jack Starke but when she hears that his ship has foundered and all were lost, she has little choice but to accept Hubert's offer of a home and marriage. Although desperately unhappy, Mirabel is determined to make the best of her life. Until she receives unexpected news and her life is thrown into turmoil once more.
    Delivery cost: 0.00
    ISBN: 9780099574972
    Price: £7.99
    Shop best deal
    Waterstones
    Waterstones
    Review this store

Add a Review/Comment

0 1 2 3 4 5

captcha security code

* Must be complete

 

Similar Products

Magnify The Orphans Tales By Catherynne M. Valente
The Orphans Tales By Catherynne M. Valente

The Orphans Tales By Catherynne M. Valente


Category: Books
Description: Catherynne M. Valente enchanted readers with her spellbinding In the Night Garden. Now she continues to weave her storytelling magic in a new book of Orphans Talesan epic of the fantastic and the exotic, the monstrous and mysterious, that will transport you far away from the everyday. Her name and origins are unknown, but the endless tales inked upon this orphans eyelids weave a spell over all who listen to her read her secret history. And who can resist the stories she tells? From the Lake...
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9780553384048
Review this product
 
The Book Depository
Review this store
The Book Depository
Product ID: 9780553384048
 
£12.27
 
Shop best deal
Magnify When We Were Orphans By Kazuo Ishiguro
When We Were Orphans By Kazuo Ishiguro

When We Were Orphans By Kazuo Ishiguro


Category: Books
Description: By the Nobel Prize-winning author of The Remains of the Day and Never Let Me Go Shortlisted for the Booker Prize England, the 1930s. Moving between inter-war London and Shanghai, When We Were Orphans is a remarkable story of memory, intrigue and the need to return.
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9780571283880
Review this product
 
The Book Depository
Review this store
The Book Depository
Product ID: 9780571283880
 
£6.27
 
Shop best deal
Magnify The Bad Beginning Or  Orphans! By Lemony Snicket
The Bad Beginning Or  Orphans! By Lemony Snicket

The Bad Beginning Or Orphans! By Lemony Snicket


Category: Books
Description: The first tale of the Baudelaire orphans is extremely unpleasant. It tells an unhappy tale about three very unlucky children. Even though they are charming and clever, the Baudelaire siblings lead lives filled with misery and woe. One might say they are magnets for misfortune.
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9780061146305
Review this product
 
The Book Depository
Review this store
The Book Depository
Product ID: 9780061146305
 
£5.52
 
Shop best deal
Magnify Workhouse Orphans
Workhouse Orphans

Workhouse Orphans


Category: Books
Description: A gritty, heartwarming family saga for fans of Dilly Court, Sheila Newberry and Maggie Hope. All they have left is each other... Life has always been tough for May and Gus Lavender. Their father went away to sea never to return, and then their mother falls victim to the typhus sweeping through Liverpool. Regarded as orphans by the authorities, May and Gus are sent to the Brownlow Hill Workhouse. Like all workhouses, Brownlow is the last resort for the poor and the destitute. May and Gus will have to rely on each other more than ever if they are to survive the hardships to come... ________________________________ Make sure you've read all the books in the Workhouse series: 1. Workhouse Orphans 2. Workhouse Angel 3. Workhouse Nightingale 4. Workhouse Girl And don't miss Holly Green's new series about wartime nurses: 1. Frontline Nurses 2. Frontline Nurses On Duty 3. Secrets of the Frontline Nurses
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9781785035715
Review this product
 
Waterstones
Review this store
Waterstones
Product ID: 9781785035715
 
£5.99
 
Shop best deal