You are here: Home » The Summer Isles

The Summer Isles

  • The Summer Isles
    The Summer Isles
    Product ID: 9781783782994
    Category: Books
    Description: In an old wooden sloop, Philip Marsden plots a course north from his home in Cornwall. He is sailing for the Summer Isles, a small archipelago near the top of Scotland that holds for him a deep and personal significance. On the way, he must navigate the west coast of Ireland and the Inner Hebrides. Bearing the full force of the Atlantic, it is a seaboard which is also a mythical frontier, a place as rich in story as anywhere on earth. Through the people he meets and the tales he uncovers, Marsden builds up a haunting picture of these shores - of imaginary islands and the Celtic otherworld, of the ageless draw of the west, of the life of the sea and perennial loss - and the redemptive power of the imagination. Exhilarating and poignant, Marsden's prose has been widely praised. Bringing together themes he has been pursuing for many years, The Summer Isles is an unforgettable account of the search for actual places, invented places, and those places in between that shape the lives of individuals and entire nations.
    Delivery cost: 0.00
    ISBN: 9781783782994
    Price: £20.00
    Shop best deal
    Waterstones
    Waterstones
    Review this store

Add a Review/Comment

0 1 2 3 4 5

captcha security code

* Must be complete

 

Similar Products

Magnify The Winter Isles
The Winter Isles

The Winter Isles


Category: Books
Description: ' One of the must-reads of the year.' Manda Scott I am Somerled. The summer warrior. What am I, if not a warrior? In twelfth-century Scotland, far removed from the courtly manners of the Lowland, the Winter Isles are riven by vicious warfare, plots and battles. Into this hard, seafaring life is born a boy called Somerled. The son of an ageing chieftain, Somerled must prove his own worth as a warrior. He will rise to lead his men into battle and claim the title of Lord of the Isles - but what must he sacrifice to secure the glory of his name? The Winter Isles is an astonishingly vivid recreation of the savage dynastic battles of medieval Scotland: an authentic, emotional, powerful read.
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9781782396604
Review this product
 
Waterstones
Review this store
Waterstones
Product ID: 9781782396604
 
£7.99
 
Shop best deal
Magnify The Butterfly Isles
The Butterfly Isles

The Butterfly Isles


Category: Books
Description: Butterflies animate our summers but the fifty-nine species found in the British Isles can be surprisingly elusive. Some bask unseen at the top of trees in London parks; others lurk at the bottom of damp bogs in Scotland. A few survive for months, while other ephemeral creatures only fly for three days. Several are virtually extinct. This bewitching book charts Patrick Barkham's quest to find each of them - from the Adonis Blue to the Dingy Skipper - in one unforgettable summer. Wry, attentive, full of infectious delight and curiosity, written with a beautifully light touch, The Butterfly Isles is a classic of British nature writing.
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9781783784585
Review this product
 
Waterstones
Review this store
Waterstones
Product ID: 9781783784585
 
£9.99
 
Shop best deal
Magnify Isles Of The North
Isles Of The North

Isles Of The North


Category: Books
Description: In the summer of 2002, Mitchell set sail aboard the 30-foot yacht Foggy Dew on a voyage that took him from his home through the Western Isles to Orkney and Shetland and on to the west coast of Norway. Against the backdrop of one of the world's most spectacular coastlines, he sailed up the Nordfjord, down to Bergen, then out to Utsira, and back home via Inverness. The object of his journey was more than just to enjoy a few contemplative drams during a summer at sea. In this sequel to his much acclaimed Isles of the West (1999), Mitchell continues his investigation into official Britain's failure to administer rural Scotland for the mutual benefit of people and nature. Ian Mitchell's narrative combines authoritative background information and personal interviews with local people, many enlivened by the measured dispensation of Scotland's most famous aid to creative thought. He shows how Norway, a country outside the EU and therefore in control of its own resources, has been able to give a wide measure of freedom to the sort of communities which in Scotland are subject to debilitating control by Edinburgh, London and Brussels. He points to many lessons which centralised, bureaucratic Britain could learn from its more democratic neighbour across the North Sea.
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9781841589442
Review this product
 
Waterstones
Review this store
Waterstones
Product ID: 9781841589442
 
£9.99
 
Shop best deal
Magnify Summer On The Little Cornish Isles: The Starfish Studio
Summer On The Little Cornish Isles: The Starfish Studio

Summer On The Little Cornish Isles: The Starfish Studio


Category: Books
Description: Fans of Jill Mansell and Carole Matthews will love this gorgeous new book from the author of the bestselling Cornish Cafe series. One summer can change everything ... Poppy has always loved Cornwall. So when her boyfriend Dan suggests they leave their office jobs and take over the Starfish Studio on the Isles of Scilly, Poppy doesn't need asking twice. But things don't go to plan when Dan dumps her, weeks before they're due to move. Determined not to give up, Poppy accepts the help of local photographer Jake, her landlord's grandson. But Jake is distracted by a loss from his past. Can they turn the crumbling gallery into a success in time for tourist season? And will a summer on the little Cornish Isles mend just the studio - or Poppy's heart too? Authors love Phillipa Ashley's books: ` Warm and funny and feel-good. .' Katie Fforde ` Filled with warm and likeable characters. Great fun!' Jill Mansell ` A glorious, tantalising taste of Cornwall, I could almost taste the salt of the sea air as I read it.' Jules Wake An utterly glorious, escapist read from a one of the freshest voices to emerge in women's fiction today. I loved every gorgeous page.' Claudia Carroll Readers love Summer on the Little Cornish Isles: ` This is an utterly charming read, with loveable characters, a gorgeous location, sizzling chemistry, humour and a loveable kitty.' Goodreads Reviewer ` You know that you are on a sure thing when you pick up a Phillips Ashley book.' Netgalley Reviewer ` I absolutely LOVED this book. It's just so lovely and so heartwarming that I struggled to put it down!' Goodreads Reviewer ` Could not put it down and read it in a day.' Netgalley Reviewer ` This and all the other previous novels will take you away to a wonderful place and give you a great story at the same time.' Netgalley Reviewer ` This is the ultimate summer beach read.' Netgalley Reviewer
Delivery cost: 0.00
ISBN: 9780008253417
Review this product
 
Waterstones
Review this store
Waterstones
Product ID: 9780008253417
 
£8.99
 
Shop best deal