The Book Depository Abhandlung UEber Die Fideicommisse, Vol. 1 by Peter Erasmus Gspan

The Book Depository Abhandlung UEber Die Fideicommisse, Vol. 1 by Peter Erasmus Gspan
Zoom
Currently out of stock
 
SCROLL DOWN
TO EXPLORE MORE
 

Price: £20.82

Brand: The Book Depository

 

Description: Abhandlung U Eber Die Fideicommisse, Vol. 1 : Paperback : Forgotten Books : 9780243362141 : 0243362145 : 25 Apr 2018. The Book Depository Abhandlung UEber Die Fideicommisse, Vol. 1 by Peter Erasmus Gspan - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

 

Category: Books

Merchant: The Book Depository

Product ID: 9780243362141

MPN: 0243362145

GTIN: 9780243362141

 
The Book Depository logo
 
Currently out of stock
 

Similar Products

  • Waterstones Erasmus, Man of Letters

    Price: £18.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: The name Erasmus of Rotterdam conjures up a golden age of scholarly integrity and the disinterested pursuit of knowledge, when learning could command public admiration without the need for authorial self-promotion. Lisa Jardine, however, shows that Erasmus self-consciously created his own reputation as the central figure of the European intellectual world. Erasmus himself--the historical as opposed to the figural individual--was a brilliant, maverick innovator, who achieved little formal academic recognition in his own lifetime. What Jardine offers here is not only a fascinating study of Erasmus but also a bold account of a key moment in Western history, a time when it first became possible to believe in the existence of something that could be designated European thought. Waterstones Erasmus, Man of Letters - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780691165691

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780691165691

     
  • Waterstones Erasmus and Luther: The Battle over Free Will

    Price: £19.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: This compilation of writings from Erasmus and Luther's great debate--over free will and grace, and their respective efficacy for salvation--offers a fuller representation of the disputants' main arguments than has ever been available in a single volume in English. Included are key, corresponding selections from not only Erasmus' conciliatory A Discussion or Discourse concerning Free Will and Luther's forceful and fully argued rebuttal, but--with the battle now joined--from Erasmus' own forceful and fully argued rebuttal of Luther. Students of Reformation theology, Christian humanism, and sixteenth-century rhetoric will find here the key to a wider appreciation of one of early modern Christianity's most illuminating and disputed controversies. Waterstones Erasmus and Luther: The Battle over Free Will - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781603845472

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781603845472

     
  • Waterstones Erasmus of Rotterdam

    Price: £17.95

    Brand: Waterstones

     
    4.8 out of 5 stars

    14 ratings

     

    Description: Erasmus of Rotterdam came from an obscure background and through remarkable perseverance, skill, and vision became a powerful intellectual figure in Europe in the early sixteenth century. He was known for his vigorous opposition to war, intolerance and hypocrisy, and at the same time for an irony and subtlety that could confuse his friends as well as his opponents. His ideas influenced the rise of the Reformation and had a huge impact on the humanities, and that continues to today. This book shows how an independent textual scholar was able, by the power of the printing press and his own wits, to attain both fame and notoriety. Erasmus of Rotterdam is the first popular biography in English in thirty years and is based on the immense amount of recent scholarship devoted to Erasmus.

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781789144512

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781789144512

     
  • Waterstones Erasmus: The Education of a Christian Prince with the Panegyric for Archduke Philip of Austria

    Price: £22.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: The Education of a Christian Prince is a new student edition of Erasmus's crucial treatise on political theory. It contains a new, excerpted translation from his Panegyric, making it possible for the first time to compare two works which Erasmus himself regarded as closely related. The Education of a Christian Prince was published in 1516 and dedicated to Prince Charles, the future Emperor Charles V, and is one of the most influential books of the 'advice-to-princes' published in the Renaissance era. It is a strongly pacifist work in which Erasmus sought to ensure that the prince governed justly and benevolently. The importance of Erasmus's work lies in his emphasis on virtuous conduct as the backbone of the polity, an argument which has influenced political writing up to the present time. This edition also includes an original introduction, a chronology of the life and work of Erasmus, and a comprehensive guide to further reading. Waterstones Erasmus: The Education of a Christian Prince with the Panegyric for Archduke Philip of Austria - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780521588119

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780521588119

     
  • Lovereading Erasmus of Rotterdam The Spirit of a Scholar

    Price: £16.16

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Erasmus of Rotterdam The Spirit of a Scholar. Hardback. By William Barker.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781789144512

     
  • Waterstones The Unforgetting

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: A spellbinding historical novel of obsession, the lure of fame, and the power of illusion, perfect for fans of The Binding, Bone China and The Lost Ones. The lure of fame. Sold by her father to a 'Professor of Ghosts', Lily Bell dreams of a career on the Victorian stage. But Erasmus Salt is promising his audience not mere theatre, but a glimpse of the spirit world. And Lily is to be his ghost. The power of illusion. Obsessed with perfection, Erasmus goes to extreme lengths to ensure his illusion is complete. When Lily finds her own obituary in the paper, and then her own headstone in the cemetery, she realises that she is trapped. The danger of obsession. But Erasmus is haunted by more than one betrayal - and as the curtain falls, Lily's fate is soon to become even darker. Waterstones The Unforgetting - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781409190622

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781409190622

     
  • Waterstones The Praise of Folly

    Price: £13.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: Desiderius Erasmus (1466-1536) was a Dutch humanist, scholar, and social critic, and one of the most important figures of the Renaissance. The Praise of Folly is perhaps his best-known work. Originally written to amuse his friend Sir Thomas More, this satiric celebration of pleasure, youth, and intoxication irreverently pokes fun at the pieties of theologians and the foibles that make us all human, while ultimately reaffirming the value of Christian ideals. No other book displays quite so completely the transition from the medieval to the modern world, and Erasmus's wit, wisdom, and critical spirit have lost none of their timeliness today. This Princeton Classics edition of The Praise of Folly features a new foreword by Anthony Grafton that provides an essential introduction to this iridescent and enduring masterpiece.

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780691165646

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780691165646

     
  • Waterstones Peter Rabbit: Hello Peter!

    Price: £5.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: No matter how small your own little bunny, this is the perfect book to introduce them to Peter Rabbit. Before Peter goes off to bed, he's having lots of fun playing and getting up to mischief. With stunning illustrations and a lovely gentle rhyme, it's the perfect bedtime book to send your little one off to sleep. -------------- Hello Peter! forms part of a continuing range of Peter Rabbit books specifically for babies. Waterstones Peter Rabbit: Hello Peter! - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780241324332

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780241324332

     
  • Waterstones The Praise of Folly and Other Writings

    Price: £14.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: Besides the celebrated Praise of Folly, Robert M. Adams has included the political Complaint of Peace, the brutal antipapal satire Julius Excluded from Heaven, two versions of Erasmus's important preface to the Latin translation of the New Testament, and a selection both serious and comic of his Colloquies and his letters. Adams has made these selections to emphasize the humane, rather than the doctrinaire, side of the first and arguably greatest humanist. Critical commentary is provided in essays by H. R. Trevor-Roper, R. S. Allen, J. Huizinga, Mikhail Bakhtin, Paul Oskar Kristeller, and Robert M. Adams. Also included are a Chronology of Erasmus's life and a Selected Bibliography. Waterstones The Praise of Folly and Other Writings - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780393957495

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780393957495

     
  • Waterstones Peter Rabbit: Easter Egg Hunt

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     
    4.8 out of 5 stars

    351 ratings

     

    Description: Join Peter Rabbit on an Easter adventure in this charming pop-up board book. Peter Rabbit and his friends LOVE Easter, and the race is on to find as many Easter eggs as possible! Lift the flaps to reveal hidden characters in this Easter egg hunt story book and look out for the pop-up surprise!. Look out for more Easter adventures with Peter Rabbit: Peter Rabbit: The Great Big Easter Egg Hunt Peter Rabbit: Peter's First Easter Peter Rabbit: Easter Fun Peter Rabbit Tales: A Spring Surprise Hop, Skip, Stick: A Sticker Activity Book Peter Rabbit: A Pop-Up Easter Egg Hunt Happy Easter Peter! Peter Rabbit Easter Eggs Press-out and Play. Waterstones Peter Rabbit: Easter Egg Hunt - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780723267287

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780723267287