The Book Depository Biting Cold by Chloe Neill

4.6 out of 5 stars
The Book Depository Biting Cold by Chloe Neill
Zoom
Currently out of stock
 
SCROLL DOWN
TO EXPLORE MORE
 

Price: £17.18

Brand: The Book Depository

 

Description: Biting Cold : Paperback : Orion Publishing Co : 9780575113428 : : 09 Aug 2012 : The sixth entry in Chloe Neill's Chicagoland Vampires series, perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Kelley Armstrong. The Book Depository Biting Cold by Chloe Neill - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

 

Category: Books

Merchant: The Book Depository

Product ID: 9780575113428

MPN: 9780575113428

GTIN: 9780575113428

 
The Book Depository logo
 
Currently out of stock
 

Author: C. Manning

Rating: 5

Review: Turned into a vampire against her will, Merit has found her way into the inner circle of Chicago's supernaturals and the secrets she has learnt are not meant for sharing. Now Merit is on the hunt racing across the midwest to stop a rogue supernatural from getting their hands on an artifact that could release a catastrophic evil on the world. But Merit herself is being hunted by an old foe who will stop at nothing to claim the artifact for himself. Will Merit survive the chase? This is the sixth book in the Chicagoland Vampires series (afterSome Girls Bite ,Friday Night Bites ,Twice Bitten ,Hard Bitten andDrink Deep ) and at this point I'd really recommend new readers go back and begin at the start. There are likely to be spoilers in this review for all previous books. I was disappointed in the previous installment as I felt it was very predictable in some respects. This storyline, however, is anything but with lots of twists and turns packed in. There are also some massive revelations, including finding out what Tate really is. The book jumps straight into the action and manages to keep a fast pace throughout as it works to bring together different storylines. I loved the introduction of gnomes and the return of some of the humour and snark from previous installments. Merit is dealing with a lot. She's been betrayed and broken and has found, lost and found love again so it isn't surprising she has matured a lot since the beginning of the series. There's a lot of healing needed in her life, but Merit doesn't have time for introspection. I was expecting more impact from Ethan's return but he takes a long time to deal with how his existence has altered. This means that his romance with Merit is firmly on the backburner, although the introspection does lead to some added depth for his character. The ending is interesting as it concludes the story while leading on to a new era for Cadogan House. I'm really interested to see where Chloe Neill takes things from here and I can't wait for the next book. All in all this was a great read and I'm looking forward toHouse Rules . Plot: 9/10 Characters: 10/10 Ending: 10/10 Enjoyment: 9/10 Cover: 8/10 Overall: 46/50

 

Author: F. Lawless

Rating: 3

Review: First off, I wold like to say that I am a huge fan of this series and always buy the books as soon as they are released. I love the interplay between all the main characters and have a real affection for Merit. Now to the down side. At the end of the last book, Ethan was brought back from the dead. Now I eagerly anticipated this book thinking that now that Ethan and Merit were together again, they would finally be able to get together, get it on and get on with the job of saving the world, but apparently not. Once again, Ethan puts a halt on their relationship and puts everything before him and Merit. I found this so infuriating as it is simply repetitive and lazy of the writer to go over this ground AGAIN! Merit does her usual and the story chugs along well and the ending is well crafted and the book once again ties up a few loose ends and leaves the reader knowing that there will be another book in the series and with a rough idea of where the story is going, as per usual. But the down side to this is that I was left feeling that I had waited for another chapter in the book rather than a whole story or installment in a series as there was not enough story or character development for me in this book. I will read the next in the series as I always wonder what will happen to Merit next but I truly hope that there will be some big character development and story arcs in the next as this one felt a bit like a bridge from the older books in the series to the new, rather than a story that could stand on its own.

 

Similar Products

  • Lovereading O'Neill The Origins of the O'Neill Family and Their Place in History

    Price: £3.59

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: O' Neill The Origins of the O' Neill Family and Their Place in History. Paperback /softback. By Iain Gray. Lovereading O'Neill The Origins of the O'Neill Family and Their Place in History - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781852174118

     
  • Lovereading Devouring Darkness

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Devouring Darkness. Paperback /softback. By Chloe Neill.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781473230620

     
  • Lovereading Shadowed Steel

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Shadowed Steel. Paperback /softback. By Chloe Neill.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781473230606

     
  • Lovereading O'Neill's Music Of Ireland

    Price: £29.69

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: O' Neill's Music Of Ireland. Book. By Francis O' Neill. Lovereading O'Neill's Music Of Ireland - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780786624980

     
  • Waterstones The Noh Family

    Price: £10.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: When her friends gift her a 23and Me test as a gag, high school senior Chloe Chang doesn't think much of trying it out. She doesn't believe anything will come of it - she's an only child, her mother is an orphan, and her father died in Seoul before she was even born, and before her mother moved to Oklahoma. It's been just Chloe and her mum her whole life. But the DNA test reveals something Chloe never expected - she's got a whole extended family from her father's side half a world away in Korea. Turns out her father's family are amongst the richest families in Seoul and want to meet Chloe. So, despite her mother's reservations, Chloe travels to Seoul and is whisked into the lap of luxury. but something feels wrong. Soon Chloe will discover the reason why her mother never told her about her dad's family, and why the Nohs wanted her in Seoul in the first place. Could joining the Noh family be worse than having no family at all?. Waterstones The Noh Family - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780593462751

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780593462751

     
  • Lovereading Terry O'Neill: The Opus

    Price: £54.00

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Terry O' Neill: The Opus. Hardback. By Terry O' Neill, Dylan Jones. Lovereading Terry O'Neill: The Opus - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781788840286

     
  • Lovereading A Swift And Savage Tide

    Price: £14.39

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: A Swift And Savage Tide. Paperback /softback. By Chloe Neill.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781984806703

     
  • Waterstones Chloe

    Price: £13.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: She wanted a man in her life. Now she has four. It was her godmother's last wish. How could she possibly say no? When Chloe Cadwallader's beloved godmother Jocelyn dies, she leaves her a letter instructing her to give up her job (rubbish) and her boyfriend (ditto) to travel the four countries of the United Kingdom during the four seasons of the year. Clutching a letter marked 'Wales', Chloe ventures to a farm deep in the Black Mountains where she comes across the best looking man she's ever laid eyes on. And as the seasons unfold, so too does Chloe's journey. From Abergavenny to St Ives, from the Giant's Causeway to the shores of Loch Lomond, join her as she discovers love, lust, life - and, just possibly, a man for all seasons.

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780007462179

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780007462179

     
  • Lovereading Wicked Hour An Heirs of Chicagoland Novel

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Wicked Hour An Heirs of Chicagoland Novel. Paperback /softback. By Chloe Neill.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781473222823

     
  • Waterstones Swimming Team Trouble

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: Grace loves being on her school's swimming team. She enjoys hanging out with her teammates and making new friends. But when Chloe joins the relay team, she and Grace clash. Grace tries several ways to be friends with Chloe but fails every time. Then at a big swim meet, Chloe blames Grace for getting their team disqualified. Grace can't believe it. She doesn't understand why Chloe is so hostile toward her. Will the two girls learn to look past their differences and work together for the good of the whole team?. Waterstones Swimming Team Trouble - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781398216006

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781398216006