Waterstones Crucible of Secrets

4.3 out of 5 stars
Waterstones Crucible of Secrets
Zoom
 
SCROLL DOWN
TO EXPLORE MORE
 

Price: £10.99

Brand: Waterstones

 

Description: Aberdeen, 1631. University librarian Robert Sim takes receipt of a gift of books recently arrived from overseas, mysterious works on alchemy and hermetics - the pursuit of ancient knowledge. By nightfall he has been brutally murdered. His colleague and good friend Alexander Seaton is left with the task of hunting for clues as to his killer's motive, as well as locating the missing books. What did Sim discover in the package, and what makes these books so dangerous? A gripping historical thriller from the CWA award-winning author of The Seeker - a must-read for fans of CJ Sansom and Rory Clements. Waterstones Crucible of Secrets - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

 

Category: Books

Merchant: Waterstones

Product ID: 9781849163163

Delivery cost: 2.99

ISBN: 9781849163163

 
Waterstones logo
 

My website utilises affiliate links when you click my 'Get the best deal now' buttons. If you buy something through one of these links, I may earn a little commission, at no extra cost to you.

 

I have relationships with many of the top online retailers (purchasing, shipping and returns will be handled directly by them) which enables me to offer the best deal online for the Waterstones Crucible of Secrets and many other similar products - which will appear below, to enhance your online shopping experience.

 

For even more great deals on Waterstones Books, click the link.

 

Author: Clemens A. Schoonderwoert

Rating: 5

Review: This very entertaining book is the 3rd instalment of the wonderful "Alexander Seaton" series from the Scottish author, Shona MacLean. Storytelling is once more of a superb quality, all figures featuring in this thrilling story come splendidly to life, and not to forget the atmosphere and historical times of Aberdeen, Scotland, and the surrounding countryside are wonderfully pictured and described by the author. The book is set in Aberdeen, in the year AD 1631, and it starts off with a very short but intriguing prologue which will form the essential basis of this tremendous tale. Like I said earlier, this thrilling Scottish historical mystery is set in the year AD 1631, and our protagonist, Alexander Seaton, who's now a Regent at the Marischal College, which is part of Aberdeen University along with King's College, will come into action once again to solve some serious heinous murders. The main story is fast-paced and action-packed, and it starts off straightaway with the murder of, Robert Sim, the librarian of Marischal College due to something he found out while cataloguing a benefaction of books. Shortly afterwards a weaver by the name of, Bernard Cummins, also gets murdered by the same hand as Robert Sim, and the intriguing part is that this same, Bernard Cummins, has recognised someone in Aberdeen who goes by the name of, Nicholas Black, but nobody else seems to know and has heard of this same man who's called, Nicholas Black. What will follow is for Alexander Seaton to find out who this Nicholas Black is, while at the same time to investigate the killings of Sim and Cummins, and when he's finally able to identify the killer Alexander will come in for a nasty surprise when certain tangles of this web of deceit will unravel themselves in the end, because the murderer is someone who's quite close to him. Very much recommended, for this episode is another excellent addition to this great series, and that's why I like to call this tale: "A Fantastic Scottish Historical Secretive Thriller"!

 

Author: Smartyfartblast

Rating: 3

Review: Much plot weaving for the first 99% of the book leading to an unsatisfactory denouement revealed through clues as obscure as the hermetic knowledge sought in the red herrings of the previous plot lines. Not up to her previous offerings.

Price Compare : From £8.09 to £8.99

Lovereading Crucible of Secrets Alexander Seaton 3, from the author of the prizewinning Seeker series

Price: £8.09

Brand: Lovereading

 

Description: Crucible of Secrets Alexander Seaton 3, from the author of the prizewinning Seeker series. Paperback /softback. By S.G. Mac Lean.

Category: Books

 
LoveReading for compare products display

Merchant: LoveReading

Product ID: 9781849163163

 

The Book Depository Crucible of Secrets by S.G. MacLean

Currently out of stock

Price: £8.99

Brand: The Book Depository

 

Description: Crucible of Secrets : Paperback : Quercus Publishing : 9781849163163 : 1849163162 : 10 Aug 2021 : A gripping historical thriller from the CWA award-winning author of The Seeker - a must-read for fans of CJ Sansom and Rory Clements. The Book Depository Crucible of Secrets by S.G. MacLean - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

Category: Books

MPN: 1849163162

GTIN: 9781849163163

 
The Book Depository for compare products display

Merchant: The Book Depository

Product ID: 9781849163163

 

Similar Products

  • Lovereading Crucible of Secrets Alexander Seaton 3, from the author of the prizewinning Seeker series

    Price: £8.09

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Crucible of Secrets Alexander Seaton 3, from the author of the prizewinning Seeker series. Paperback /softback. By S.G. Mac Lean.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781849163163

     
  • Waterstones KeyForge: Tales From the Crucible

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: Take a whirlwind tour to the incredible planet of a million fantasy races, the Crucible, in this wild science fantasy anthology from the hit new game, Key Forge. Welcome to the Crucible - an artificial planet larger than our sun - an ever-growing patchwork of countless other worlds, filled with creatures, sentient beings and societies stolen from across the universe by the mythical Architects. Across this dizzying juxtaposition of alien biospheres, the enigmatic and godlike Archons seek to unlock the secrets at the heart of the Crucible. Everyone else is just trying to survive. Explore ten tales of adventure in a realm where science and magic team up, of discovery and culture clash, featuring mad Martian scientists, cybernetic surgeons, battle reenactors, elven thieves, private investigators, goblins, saurian monsters, and the newly arrived human Star Alliance. Waterstones KeyForge: Tales From the Crucible - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781839080234

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781839080234

     
  • Lovereading The Last Crucible

    Price: £8.96

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Last Crucible. Paperback /softback. By J.D. Moyer.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781787585874

     
  • Lovereading Crucible A Thriller

    Price: £7.19

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Crucible A Thriller. Paperback /softback. By James Rollins.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780062381798

     
  • Waterstones The Qubit Zirconium

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: Alien detectives stumble across a mystery that could tear apart their patchwork planet, the Crucible, in this riotous science fantasy novel from the smash hit game, Key Forge Wibble & Pplimz, the Crucible's most unusual private investigators, must set off from their office in Hub City to clear the name of a former client. Along the way, their investigation broadens from a simple accusation of theft to include a missing person, a potential murder, and a highly unusual gem. Four interlinking incidents take them across the Crucible, as they attempt to solve the case. But there's something more sinister lurking underneath: evidence of a secret society that aims to discover the power of the Architects, and forever change the nature of the Crucible itself. Waterstones The Qubit Zirconium - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781839080661

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781839080661

     
  • Lovereading Crucible of Gold

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Crucible of Gold. Paperback. By Naomi Novik.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780007569106

     
  • Lovereading KeyForge: Tales From the Crucible A KeyForge Anthology

    Price: £8.09

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Key Forge: Tales From the Crucible A Key Forge Anthology. Paperback /softback. By David Guymer, Robbie Mac Niven, Tristan Palmgren. Lovereading KeyForge: Tales From the Crucible A KeyForge Anthology - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781839080234

     
  • Lovereading Star Wars: Crucible

    Price: £14.39

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Star Wars: Crucible. Paperback /softback. By Troy Denning.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780099542933

     
  • Lovereading The Last Crucible Seeds of Rage

    Price: £9.89

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Last Crucible Seeds of Rage. Paperback /softback. By Darren N. Webster.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781398406117

     
  • Lovereading The Crucible A Play in Four Acts

    Price: £8.09

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Crucible A Play in Four Acts. Paperback /softback. By Arthur Miller.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780141182551