Waterstones Drug Use and Abuse

Waterstones Drug Use and Abuse
Zoom
Currently out of stock
 
SCROLL DOWN
TO EXPLORE MORE
 

Price: £14.48

Brand: Waterstones

 

Description: DRUG USE AND ABUSE takes an interdisciplinary approach in its coverage of current drug issues. It weaves psychological, historical, cultural, social, biological, and medical perspectives -- emphasizing the idea that a drug's effects depend not only on its properties, but also on the biological and psychological characteristics of its user. This theme is highlighted throughout, and is prominent in discussions of the individual classes of drugs, as well as in the chapters on pharmacology and psychopharmacology. Waterstones Drug Use and Abuse - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

 

Category: Books

Merchant: Waterstones

Product ID: 9781285455518

Delivery cost: 2.99

ISBN: 9781285455518

 
Waterstones logo
 
Currently out of stock
 

Similar Products

  • Waterstones The Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Client Workbook

    Price: £54.00

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: The Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Patient Workbook is intended for patients on their journey to recovery in 12-step treatment programs. Designed to provide a venue for individuals to write down their thoughts and experiences as they progress through the 12 steps of treatment. As a complement Chemical Dependency Counseling, this interactive book is used and purchased by treatment centers and individual substance abuse counselors. The workbook takes the patient (client) through the first five steps of recovery and offers space for the client to work on their own personal recovery plan. It also has a chapter on preventing relapse and honesty. Waterstones The Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Client Workbook - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 0.00

    ISBN: 9781544362403

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781544362403

     
  • Waterstones Should All Drugs Be Legalized

    Price: £12.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: A timely re-examination of the pros and cons of legalizing drug use. Combining a unique visual approach with carefully constructed narrative text, this book provides a survey of the history of drug use, a review of the impact of the war on drugs, an appraisal of the effects of legal vs illegal drugs and an evaluation of the impact of the decriminalization of drugs. According to archaeological and historical records, ethanol in the form of beer in Sumeria and wine in Egypt has been used recreationally for 13,000 years, while psychotropic drugs have been used for thousands of years, mainly for religious purposes. This book sets out the history of the use of drugs since the Neolithic age, and explores the evolution of recreational drug use from the mid-18th century on. It considers the lethal and social impact of heavy use of legal alcohol or nicotine vs the hazards to health and society associated with illegal drugs. It evaluates the effects of the 50-year failed global war on drugs on the criminal production and trafficking of drugs on the black market and on the abuse, health and imprisonment of end users. Finally, it argues for the decriminalization of all drugs and the state regulation of the drug market, with suitable controls and regulation for each drug type. Waterstones Should All Drugs Be Legalized - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780500295687

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780500295687

     
  • Waterstones Drugs, the Brain, and Behavior

    Price: £39.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: This third edition of Drugs, the Brain, and Behavior provides a comprehensive overview of the brain and explores the clinical and pharmacological issues surrounding drug abuse and dependence. Dr Brick provides definitions, historic discoveries about the nervous system, and original, eye-catching illustrations to discuss the brain/behavior relationship, basic neuroanatomy, neurophysiology, and the mechanistic actions of mood-altering drugs. Topics include: how psychoactive drugs affect cognition, behavior, and emotion; the brain/behavior relationship; the specific effects of major addictive and psychoactive drug groups; new definitions and thinking about abuse and dependence; and the medical uses of drugs, such as cannabinoids. A new chapter on biobehavioral markers explores how markers can guide the clinician in the diagnosis of some disorders. This book offers a quick reference guide which uses a balance of instruction, illustrations, tables, and formulas, that will give you a broad, lasting introduction to this intriguing subject. Drugs, the Brain, and Behavior is an invaluable resource for students in the field, nurses, psychologists, counsellors, physicians and other health care professionals.

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 0.00

    ISBN: 9781032419787

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781032419787

     
  • Lovereading Murphy's Last Law If Child Abuse Can Happen, Child Abuse Will Happen

    Price: £8.09

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Murphy's Last Law If Child Abuse Can Happen, Child Abuse Will Happen. Paperback /softback. By Peter Hodson.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781528993715

     
  • Zondervan What Do I Do When Teenagers are Victims of Abuse , Religion, Paperback, Steven Gerali

    Price: £4.99

    Brand: Zondervan

     

    Description: In What Do I Do When Teenagers are Victims of Abuse? you'll explore the various types of abuse teenagers may become victims of, how theology informs the issue, and what practical actions you can take to help teens avoid or escape abusive relationships. You'll also find additional resources to take the help further. Zondervan What Do I Do When Teenagers are Victims of Abuse , Religion, Paperback, Steven Gerali - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 140x216mm

    ISBN: 9780310291954

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780310291954

     
  • Waterstones The Evolving Truth of Ever-Stronger Will

    Price: £17.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: Will, an agender teen, struggles with the haunting aftermath of parental abuse as they forge a new life and love in this novel that is perfect for fans of If These Wings Could Fly and Last Night at the Telegraph Club. Will is a 17-year-old on the cusp of freedom: freedom from providing and caring for their abusive, addicted mother, freedom from their small town with an even smaller mindset, and the freedom from having to hide who they truly are. When their drug dealer mother dies months before their 18th birthday, Will is granted their freedom earlier than expected. But their mother's last words haunt Will: She cursed them with her dying breath, claiming her death was their fault. Soon their mother's drug-dealing past threatens Will's new shiny future, leaving Will scrambling to find their beloved former foster mother Raz before Child Protective Services or local drug dealers find them first. But how do you reconnect with family and embark on a new love when you're convinced you destroy everything you touch?. Waterstones The Evolving Truth of Ever-Stronger Will - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781662620171

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781662620171

     
  • Lovereading After... The Impact of Child Abuse

    Price: £11.69

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: After. The Impact of Child Abuse. Paperback /softback. By Libby Moore. Lovereading After... The Impact of Child Abuse - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781472144256

     
  • Waterstones The Yage Letters

    Price: £14.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     
    4.5 out of 5 stars

    57 ratings

     

    Description: William Burroughs closed his classic debut novel, Junky, by saying he had determined to search out a drug he called 'Yage' which he believed transmitted telepathic powers, a drug that could be 'the final fix'. In The Yage Letters - a mix of travel writing, satire, psychedelia and epistolary novel - he journeys through South America, writing to his friend Allen Ginsberg about his experiments with the strange drug, using it to travel through time and space, to derange his senses - the perfect drug for the author of the wild decentred books that followed. Years later, Ginsberg writes back as he follows in Burroughs' footsteps, and the drug worse and more profound than he had imagined.

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780141189864

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780141189864

     
  • Lovereading Drug Wars The terrifying inside story of Britain's drug trade

    Price: £7.19

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Drug Wars The terrifying inside story of Britain's drug trade. Paperback /softback. By Neil Woods, J S Rafaeli.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781785037467

     
  • Waterstones The Hospital

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     
    4.6 out of 5 stars

    8897 ratings

     

    Description: The Sunday Times top ten bestseller.' Nobody knew what was going on behind those doors. We were human toys. Just a piece of meat for someone to play with.' Barbara O' Hare was just 12 when she was admitted to the psychiatric hospital, Aston Hall, in 1971. From a troubled home, she'd hoped she would find sanctuary there. But within hours, Barbara was tied down, drugged with sodium amytal - a truth-telling drug - and then abused by its head physician, Dr Kenneth Milner. The terrifying drug experimentation and relentless abuse that lasted throughout her stay damaged her for life. But somehow, Barbara clung on to her inner strength and eventually found herself leading a campaign to demand answers for potentially hundreds of victims. A shocking account of how vulnerable children were preyed upon by the doctor entrusted with their care, and why it must never happen again. Waterstones The Hospital - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781911274636

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781911274636