The Book Depository First Comes Marriage by Mary Balogh

4.3 out of 5 stars
The Book Depository First Comes Marriage by Mary Balogh
Zoom
Currently out of stock
 
SCROLL DOWN
TO EXPLORE MORE
 

Price: £7.96

Brand: The Book Depository

 

Description: First Comes Marriage : Paperback : Dell Books : 9780440244226 : 0440244226 : 24 Feb 2009 : In the first of a dazzling linked Regency quartet by a New York Times-bestselling author, Viscount Lygate is drawn to the many attractions of the Huxtable family, but which one of the daughters will answer his prayers? Original. The Book Depository First Comes Marriage by Mary Balogh - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

 

Category: Books

Merchant: The Book Depository

Product ID: 9780440244226

MPN: 0440244226

GTIN: 9780440244226

 
The Book Depository logo
 
Currently out of stock
 

Author: wise owl

Rating: 5

Review: I like all of Mary Balogh Books. I can really feel what it was like to live in that era!

 

Author: britgirl

Rating: 3

Review: Mrs Vanessa Dew, nee Huxtable, is a widow after her husband died shortly into their marriage. She is the middle sister of the Huxtables, eldest Margaret, young Katherine and Stephen, who at the age of 17, has become the Earl of Merton. Both Margaret, Katherine and Stephen are described as beauties, but the author says Vanessa is plain, despite her already being married to Hedley Dew, a man who was considered handsome, so some may wonder how she 'bagged' him. Anyway, the 29 year old Viscount Lyngate arrives in the village to tell Stephen he is now an Earl, so the whole family travel to London so they can be trained for their roles, since they are currently considered to be 'country bumpkins.' It is decided that due to his age, Lyngate should marry, and looks to the two 'beauties,' Margaret and Katherine, before settling for Margaret. Before he proposes, word goes around of Lyngate's desire, and Margaret worries, but believes she will have to accept. Vanessa goes to Lyngate herself and proposes to him before he has the chance to ask her sister instead. He is taken aback, but Vanessa implies that since she has been married before, she has more experience than her sister, and knows how to please a man. They marry, and they move to London to learn their new roles. After time, Vanessa finds herself pregnant, and is upset when Lyngate's rogue friend and her cousin, Constantine, brings Lyngate's former mistress to one of their balls. The former mistress implies to Vanessa that she is still Lyngate's lover, and Vanessa is upset but learns the truth later on. Over time, she realises she loves Lyngate, despite declaring all along it is a marriage of convenience, but is unsure herself of Lyngate's feelings. Overall, it was OK, but to me, not as amazing as the other reviewers have said. I found Vanessa quite irritating at times. She goes to Lyngate first to propose marriage, although saying she's doing it for her sister. I think she is doing it for herself too. When it is agreed they will marry, Lyngate tells her she has the chance to back out, but she says no. At first, Lyngate sees Vanessa as annoying, and I have to agree with him, but he doesn't give anyone else the chance as he doesn't speak to hardly anyone. Vanessa's constant moans about her being plain annoyed me, although later on, the author indicates something about her eyes, but it just changed everything already said about her. I cringed at the "Oh Elliott," (Lyngate), when she fails to accept a compliment properly, or when she talks of flowers. This is the first of the Huxtable stories. Although this one wasn't very interesting (for me), I am still going to read the others, as although the other characters in this book were held in the background, I found them much more interesting and am keen to learn more about them. As I have said before, this is just my opinion and it is different to the other reviews on here. But I am entitled to my opinion, as is everyone else. And we cannot always agree anyway! :)

 

Similar Products

  • Lovereading First Comes Marriage Number 1 in series

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: First Comes Marriage Number 1 in series. Paperback /softback. By Mary Balogh.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780749942816

     
  • Lovereading A Very Special Christmas Including A Christmas Bride and Christmas Stories from Under the Mistletoe by Mary Balogh

    Price: £6.29

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: A Very Special Christmas Including A Christmas Bride and Christmas Stories from Under the Mistletoe by Mary Balogh. Paperback /softback. By Mary Balogh.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781984802170

     
  • Lovereading Someone to Wed

    Price: £8.09

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Someone to Wed. Paperback /softback. By Mary Balogh.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780349419190

     
  • Canelo Once a Spy

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Canelo

     

    Description: Love and survival in the shadow of Waterloo Wearied by his years as a British intelligence officer, Simon Duval resigns soon after Napoleon's abdication. Returning to England, he discovers his cousin's widow working as a seamstress and living in reduced circumstances. Suzanne is done with love. So when Simon proposes a marriage of companionship, she accepts. Not expecting a true marriage, Suzanne can't help but be drawn to Simon, until news from France shatters their happiness. Napoleon has escaped and Simon must once again help prevent war. Only this time, he does not go into danger alone. He and Suzanne will face deadly peril together. A heart-racing Regency romance for fans of Mary Balogh and Georgette Heyer. Canelo Once a Spy - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781800325784

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781800325784

     
  • Lovereading Only Enchanting

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Only Enchanting. Paperback /softback. By Mary Balogh.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780349405360

     
  • Lovereading Someone to Cherish

    Price: £8.09

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Someone to Cherish. Paperback /softback. By Mary Balogh.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780349423678

     
  • Lovereading Only a Promise

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Only a Promise. Paperback /softback. By Mary Balogh.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780349405315

     
  • Lovereading Someone to Care

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Someone to Care. Paperback /softback. By Mary Balogh.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780349419213

     
  • Lovereading Only a Kiss

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Only a Kiss. Paperback /softback. By Mary Balogh.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780349405339

     
  • Lovereading Someone to Remember

    Price: £6.29

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Someone to Remember. Paperback /softback. By Mary Balogh.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780349425009