The Book Depository Gilgamesh The King by Ludmila Zeman

4.8 out of 5 stars
The Book Depository Gilgamesh The King by Ludmila Zeman
Zoom
Currently out of stock
 
SCROLL DOWN
TO EXPLORE MORE
 

Price: £7.44

Brand: The Book Depository

 

Description: Gilgamesh The King : Paperback : Tundra Books : 9780887764370 : 0887764371 : 27 Aug 1998 : Gilgamesh, half-god and half-man, in his loneliness and isolation becomes a cruel tyrant over the citizens of Uruk. To impress them forever he orders a great wall to be built, driving his people to exhaustion and despair so that they cry to the Sun God for help. In answer, another kind of man, Enkidu, is sent to earth to live among the animals and learn kindness from them. He falls in love with Shamhat, a singer from the temple, and he follows her back to Uruk. There, Enkidu, the uncivilized beast from the forest, shows the evil Gilgamesh through friendship what it means to be human. The Book Depository Gilgamesh The King by Ludmila Zeman - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

 

Category: Books

Merchant: The Book Depository

Product ID: 9780887764370

MPN: 0887764371

GTIN: 9780887764370

 
The Book Depository logo
 
Currently out of stock
 

Author: R. Lyubovitzky

Rating: 5

Review: It was enjoyable to read Zeman's interpretation of Mesopotamian myths. She did a great job retelling the story in an interesting yet child-appropriate way. We got all three books in the series and read them all on evening. The illustrations are beautiful. A hardcover would make a beautiful gift if they were not so expensive and hard to find.

 

Author: Matthew Freney

Rating: 4

Review: Medium to Good story for young children not to learn only about pyramids and pharaoh's when talking about ancient Egypt.

 

Similar Products

  • Lovereading Ruslan and Ludmila

    Price: £11.69

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Ruslan and Ludmila. Hardback. By D. M. Thomas.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781471177453

     
  • Lovereading Gilgamesh

    Price: £9.89

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Gilgamesh. Paperback /softback. By Stephen Mitchell.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781861977984

     
  • JACH Publishing LUDMILA

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: JACH Publishing

     

    Description: . JACH Publishing LUDMILA - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781999717650

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781999717650

     
  • Lovereading Gilgamesh Retold

    Price: £11.69

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Gilgamesh Retold. Paperback /softback. By Jenny Lewis.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781784106140

     
  • HarperCollins The Pinocchio Syndrome, Fiction, Paperback, David Zeman

    Price: £17.99

    Brand: HarperCollins

     

    Description: An international thriller of political intrigue, personal betrayal and cutting-edge science, The Pinocchio Syndrome marks the debut of a brilliant new talent. HarperCollins The Pinocchio Syndrome, Fiction, Paperback, David Zeman - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 111x178mm

    Keywords: Murder,crime,mystery,Thriller,The,Police,action,Fiction,killer,and,detective,Family,suspense,Of,adventure,

    ISBN: 9780007160082

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780007160082

     
  • Lovereading The Epic of Gilgamesh

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Epic of Gilgamesh. Paperback /softback. By Anonymous Anonymous.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780140449198

     
  • Oxford University Press Oxford Reading Tree TreeTops Myths and Legends: Level 17: The Legend Of Gilgamesh

    Price: £5.05

    Brand: Oxford University Press

     

    Description: The Legend of Gilgamesh is a retelling of the oldest recorded story in the world. The cruel King Gilgamesh forms an unlikely friendship with a wild man, Enkidu. Together they plan to battle fearsome monsters. Can they succeed and live to tell the tale? Captivating versions of some of the best myths and legends from around the world. Tree Tops Myths and Legends are fascinating and action-packed stories that will motivate and inspire readers. These are some of the oldest and most enduring stories in the world, retold by leading contemporary children's authors to bring out all of the action, drama, humour and depth of the original stories in a way that makes them as exciting and meaningful today as ever. The stories are beautifully illustrated in a range of styles to bring each tale to life. Books contain inside cover notes to support children in their reading. Help with children's reading development also available at www. Oxfordowl. Co. uk. The books are finely levelled, making it easy to match every child to the right book. Oxford University Press Oxford Reading Tree TreeTops Myths and Legends: Level 17: The Legend Of Gilgamesh - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780198446439

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780198446439

     
  • Lovereading Graphic Canon, The - Vol. 1 From Gilgamesh to Dangerous Liasons

    Price: £24.29

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Graphic Canon, The - Vol. 1 From Gilgamesh to Dangerous Liasons. Paperback /softback. By Russ Kick.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781609803766

     
  • Lovereading Myths from Mesopotamia Creation, The Flood, Gilgamesh, and Others

    Price: £8.09

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Myths from Mesopotamia Creation, The Flood, Gilgamesh, and Others. Paperback /softback. By Stephanie (Shillito Fellow in Assyriology at the Oriental Institute, Oxford, and a Senior Research Fellow, Shillito Fel Dalley.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780199538362

     
  • Titan Books Ltd Inanna

    Price: £9.99

    Brand: Titan Books Ltd

     

    Description: An enthralling and lyrical fantasy debut, and the first in an incredible new trilogy re-telling The Epic of Gilgamesh. Brimming full of warring gods, rebellious humans, and the goddess of love caught between them whose destiny has the power to transform the shape of the world, this is perfect for readers of Madeline Miller and Jennifer Saint. Stories are sly things.they can be hard to catch and kill. Inanna is an impossibility, the first full Anunnaki born on Earth in Ancient Mesopotamia. Crowned the goddess of love by the twelve immortal Anunnaki who are worshipped across Sumer, she is destined for greatness. But Inanna is born into a time of war. The Anunnaki have split into warring factions, threatening to tear the world apart. Forced into a marriage to negotiate a peace, she soon realises she has been placed in terrible danger. Gilgamesh, a mortal human son of the Anunnaki, and notorious womaniser, finds himself captured and imprisoned by King Akka who seeks to distance himself and his people from the gods. Arrogant and selfish, Gilgamesh is given one final chance to prove himself. Ninshubar, a powerful warrior woman, is cast out of her tribe after an act of kindness. Hunted by her own people, she escapes across the country, searching for acceptance and a new place in the world. As their journeys push them closer together, and their fates intertwine, they come to realise that together, they may have the power to change to face of the world forever. The first novel in the stunning Sumerians Trilogy, this is a gorgeous, epic retelling of one of the oldest surviving works of literature.

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781803364407

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781803364407