Waterstones Hollywood on Location

Waterstones Hollywood on Location
Zoom
 
SCROLL DOWN
TO EXPLORE MORE
 

Price: £31.00

Brand: Waterstones

 

Description: Location shooting has always been a vital counterpart to soundstage production, and at times, the primary form of Hollywood filmmaking. But until now, the industrial and artistic development of this production practice has been scattered across the margins of larger American film histories. Hollywood on Location is the first comprehensive history of location shooting in the American film industry, showing how this mode of filmmaking changed Hollywood business practices, production strategies, and visual style from the silent era to the present. The contributors explore how location filmmaking supplemented and later, supplanted production on the studio lots. Drawing on archival research and in-depth case studies, the seven contributors show how location shooting expanded the geography of American film production, from city streets and rural landscapes to far-flung territories overseas, invoking a new set of creative, financial, technical, and logistical challenges. Whereas studio filmmaking sought to recreate nature, location shooting sought to master it, finding new production values and production economies that reshaped Hollywood's modus operandi. .

 

Category: Books

Merchant: Waterstones

Product ID: 9780813586250

Delivery cost: 0.00

ISBN: 9780813586250

 
Waterstones logo
 

My website utilises affiliate links when you click my 'Get the best deal now' buttons. If you buy something through one of these links, I may earn a little commission, at no extra cost to you.

 

I have relationships with many of the top online retailers (purchasing, shipping and returns will be handled directly by them) which enables me to offer the best deal online for the Waterstones Hollywood on Location and many other similar products - which will appear below, to enhance your online shopping experience.

 

For even more great deals on Waterstones Books, click the link.

 

Similar Products

  • Avon The Perfect Location, Romance, Paperback, Kate Forster

    Price: £12.99

    Brand: Avon

     

    Description: Three glamorous actresses gliding through a life lived on the silver screen. One Hollywood Blockbuster. An intricate web of passionate pasts, addictions, lovers and secrets, perfect for fans of Lesley Lokko and Adriana Trigiani. Avon The Perfect Location, Romance, Paperback, Kate Forster - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 129x198mm

    Keywords: glamour,sex,secrets,actress,love,scandal,friendship

    ISBN: 9781847563088

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9781847563088

     
  • Waterstones Hollywood Dogs

    Price: £12.95

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: These stunning images of some of Hollywood's most iconic stars and their beloved dogs are possible the best thing we've ever seen - Marie Claire Hollywood Dogs showcases a fine selection of photographs from the famous John Kobal Foundation. Taken between 1920 and 1960 during the Golden Age of Hollywood, they feature stars including Humphrey Bogart, Buster Keaton, Elvis Presley, Tony Curtis, Sophia Lauren, Elizabeth Taylor, Rock Hudson, Ava Gardner, Shirley Maclaine, Frank Sinatra, Grace Kelly and Audrey Hepburn posing with dogs of every stature and breed. In almost every case, these stunning photographs have never been seen before now. As much as the Hollywood studio system tried to control every aspect of their stars' lives, there was nothing the bosses could do to manipulate their illustrious employees' responses when photographed with their dogs. Hollywood Dogs celebrates this special relationship between these famous owners and their animals. Often caught off-guard, and almost always relaxed and natural, these are photographs of the Hollywood stars as real people. Amongst the images are some of the most famous dogs in Hollywood films: Lassie; Asta; Rin Tin Tin and Toto from the Wizard of Oz. There are also a few carefully-set-up publicity shots, such as Frank Sinatra on the set of Pal Joey, and Jean Harlow accessorised with a large hat and two Old English sheepdogs. Each image has been researched to identify the breed and wherever possible, the name of the dog, and Catherine Britton has included intriguing details about the location and background to the photograph.

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781788840200

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781788840200

     
  • Waterstones Hollywood Babylon

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     
    4.5 out of 5 stars

    26 ratings

     

    Description: Originally published in Paris, this is a collection of Hollywood's darkest and best kept secrets from the pen of Kenneth Anger, a former child movie actor who grew up to become one of America's leading underground film-makers. Waterstones Hollywood Babylon - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780440153252

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780440153252

     
  • Lovereading On Location

    Price: £13.49

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: On Location. Paperback /softback. By Sarah Echavarre Smith.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780593201657

     
  • Lovereading Joseph P. Kennedy's Hollywood Years The First and Only Outsider to Fleece Hollywood

    Price: £22.50

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Joseph P. Kennedy's Hollywood Years The First and Only Outsider to Fleece Hollywood. Hardback. By Cari Beauchamp.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780571217366

     
  • Waterstones High Concept

    Price: £16.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: Using the life and career of Don Simpson as a point of departure, High Concept takes readers on a riveting journey inside the Hollywood of the 1980s and 90s. For over two decades, Simpson was Hollywood's reigning bad boy, yet through the same period he and his partner, Jerry Bruckheimer were the most successful independent producers in the Hollywood history. The revelations in High Concept are astounding! Through intensive research Fleming has created a dramatic tale of the rise of the key players and how the Don Simpson way became the Hollywood way. Through an interwoven narrative of the decadence and greed, hypocrisy and hysteria, profligacy and moral emptiness of the key power brokers, Fleming returns to the core concept of excess and how it continues to drive Hollywood.

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780747542629

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780747542629

     
  • Waterstones Peppa Pig: Peppa Goes to Hollywood

    Price: £6.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: Peppa and her family have won a trip to Hollywood to star in Super Potato's new film, Vegetables in Space! On their way, they go to New York and the Grand Canyon before finally arriving at the film studio in Hollywood. In the film, hundreds of carrots are zooming down from space and destroying the universe. Who will help save the day? This picture book story with a very glittery cover is based on the exciting new special 4-part episode. Waterstones Peppa Pig: Peppa Goes to Hollywood - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780241476772

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780241476772

     
  • Waterstones From Hollywood to Wrexham

    Price: £9.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: Ryan Reynolds and Rob Mc Elhenney's TV series about their shock buyout of Wrexham AFC has propelled the team to unimaginable new popularity. Lifelong fan Peter Read looks at his own obsessive support, the club's history, and developments over the first two seasons under the Hollywood stars. Waterstones From Hollywood to Wrexham - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781912631452

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781912631452

     
  • Lovereading Nowhere Near Hollywood

    Price: £11.69

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Nowhere Near Hollywood. Paperback /softback. By Mark Sa Franko.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781916004306

     
  • Lovereading Hollywood

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Hollywood. Paperback /softback. By Charles Bukowski, Howard Sounes.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781786891679