The Book Depository Iris and Ruby by Rosie Thomas

4.3 out of 5 stars
The Book Depository Iris and Ruby by Rosie Thomas
Zoom
Currently out of stock
 
SCROLL DOWN
TO EXPLORE MORE
 

Price: £14.05

Brand: The Book Depository

 

Description: Iris and Ruby : Paperback : Harper Collins Publishers : 9780007173549 : : 07 Aug 2006 : A gripping, exotic and epic tale for fans of Dinah Jeffries and Victoria Hislop. The Book Depository Iris and Ruby by Rosie Thomas - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

 

Category: Books

Merchant: The Book Depository

Product ID: 9780007173549

MPN: 9780007173549

GTIN: 9780007173549

 
The Book Depository logo
 
Currently out of stock
 

Author: Mrs Jayne Smith

Rating: 5

Review: Loved it

 

Author: Glilla Bear

Rating: 3

Review: This novel takes as its start-point a conceptually similar situation to Sebastian Barry's "The Secret Scripture" - but it is not a patch on Barry's book as a compelling tale. Rosie Thomas is incapable of writing poorly - her books always hold my interest. On the other hand, she never stuns me. The present novel is the intriguing story of an elderly grandmother, resident in a very well-described and evoked Cairo, whose life is disrupted and ultimately transformed by the visitation of her granddaughter, Ruby. Ruby has suffered through a difficult relationship with her mother, who had a similarly difficult upbringing with Ruby's grandmother, Iris. Love was buried, disaffection had set in.. All good stuff - and from it quite a tapestry of interaction is woven. Suddenly, though, around page 400, I felt that Ms Thomas had lost interest on the plot, that she had created (as so many novelists do) a web so intricate and dense that she was held fast in it. The unravelling or denouement of the various threads is accomplished in disappointingly workaday fashion, and as I felt Ms Thomas lost interest in her creation, so too did I. The interrelation between past and present is wonderfully handled, the atmosphere of dusty, noisy, ancient and mysterious Cairo very well done. Ultimately, though, I did not feel I had been raised up by the experience of reading this novel. It was worth the read, but not an uplifting experience for me. Recommended, then - but with only two cheers rather than three.

 

Similar Products

  • HarperCollins Iris and Ruby, Romance, Paperback, Rosie Thomas

    Price: £14.99

    Brand: HarperCollins

     
    4.3 out of 5 stars

    1454 ratings

     

    Description: A gripping, exotic and epic tale for fans of Dinah Jeffries and Victoria Hislop. HarperCollins Iris and Ruby, Romance, Paperback, Rosie Thomas - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 129x198mm

    Keywords: Romantic,Ghostwritten,White A Simple Life,Daughters Of Castle Deverill,The Illusionists

    ISBN: 9780007173549

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780007173549

     
  • HarperCollins Constance, Romance, Paperback, Rosie Thomas

    Price: £14.99

    Brand: HarperCollins

     

    Description: The new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Iris and Ruby. HarperCollins Constance, Romance, Paperback, Rosie Thomas - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 129x198mm

    Keywords: Family,Love,Relationships,Sister,Adoption,Mother,London

    ISBN: 9780007173563

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780007173563

     
  • HarperCollins Lovers and Newcomers, Contemporary Fiction, Paperback, Rosie Thomas

    Price: £15.99

    Brand: HarperCollins

     

    Description: From the bestselling author of Iris and Ruby comes a novel in which a group of old friends reunite to start a new stage of their lives. HarperCollins Lovers and Newcomers, Contemporary Fiction, Paperback, Rosie Thomas - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 129x198mm

    Keywords: The,Of,Brontë,Love,Family,Marriage,Romance,Modern

    ISBN: 9780007285945

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780007285945

     
  • Zaffre A Simple Wish

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Zaffre

     

    Description: Perfect for fans of heartwarming saga from Sunday Times bestselling author, Rosie Goodwin. Britian's best-loved saga writer with over one million copies sold. 1885. Ruby Carter works hard in her parents' bakery. Whilst life isn't easy, she's happy enough - her gentle mother protects young Ruby from her cruel father and loves her unconditionally. So, when her mother falls seriously ill, Ruby is heartbroken. Then, from her deathbed, her mother reveals that Ruby was adopted. Stricken by grief and alone with the violent man she called her father, Ruby feels she has no choice but to flee. At just fifteen, homeless and alone she is relieved when a kindly stranger named Mrs Bamber takes pity on poor Ruby and welcomes her into her home. But soon, Ruby learns Mrs Bamber is not as generous as she first seemed - she forces Ruby into a life of crime as a jewel thief in Birmingham's jewellery quarter. With nothing to her name and nowhere to go Ruby has no choice but to go along with it, despite the guilt and shame she feels. But Ruby is determined that she will atone for what she's done, and be reunited with her birth parents. Ruby's only wish is to find her family. Zaffre A Simple Wish - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781838773540

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781838773540

     
  • HarperCollins White, Romance, Paperback, Rosie Thomas

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: HarperCollins

     

    Description: 'Terrific stuff. a real weepy' The Times. HarperCollins White, Romance, Paperback, Rosie Thomas - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 129x198mm

    Keywords: Kashmir Shawl,everest,mountain climbing,love romance,danger,base camp,himalayas,mount

    ISBN: 9780007563210

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780007563210

     
  • HarperCollins Follies, Romance, Paperback, Rosie Thomas

    Price: £14.99

    Brand: HarperCollins

     

    Description: From the bestselling author of The Kashmir Shawl. HarperCollins Follies, Romance, Paperback, Rosie Thomas - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 129x198mm

    Keywords: Kashmir Shawl,oxford university,education,first love,friendship,friends

    ISBN: 9780007563272

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780007563272

     
  • HarperCollins Sun at Midnight, Contemporary Fiction, Paperback, Rosie Thomas

    Price: £10.99

    Brand: HarperCollins

     

    Description: An epic love story and adventure set against the stunning backdrop of Antarctica. HarperCollins Sun at Midnight, Contemporary Fiction, Paperback, Rosie Thomas - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 129x198mm

    Keywords: Love,Danger,Passion,Hurt,Secrets,Everest

    ISBN: 9780007173525

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780007173525

     
  • HarperCollins Daughter of the House, Fiction, Paperback, Rosie Thomas

    Price: £10.99

    Brand: HarperCollins

     

    Description: A stunning novel from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of THE KASHMIR SHAWL. HarperCollins Daughter of the House, Fiction, Paperback, Rosie Thomas - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 129x198mm

    Keywords: The Kashmir Shawl,The Thread,The White Dove,Suffragette,Carey Mulligan,Iris And Ruby,Meryl Streep,Club,Potter’s House,Helena Bonham Carter,Rebels

    ISBN: 9780007512089

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780007512089

     
  • HarperCollins The Illusionists, Contemporary Fiction, Paperback, Rosie Thomas

    Price: £15.99

    Brand: HarperCollins

     

    Description: From the bestselling author of the phenomenally successful The Kashmir Shawl. HarperCollins The Illusionists, Contemporary Fiction, Paperback, Rosie Thomas - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 129x198mm

    Keywords: Kashmir Shawl,Daughter Of The House,White Dove,Summertime

    ISBN: 9780007512041

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780007512041

     
  • HarperCollins The Potter’s House, Romance, Paperback, Rosie Thomas

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: HarperCollins

     

    Description: From the bestselling author of The Kashmir Shawl. HarperCollins The Potter’s House, Romance, Paperback, Rosie Thomas - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 129x198mm

    Keywords: The Kashmir Shawl,The Island,The Illusionists,The Thread,The White Dove

    ISBN: 9780007563227

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780007563227