Waterstones Naseby 1645

Waterstones Naseby 1645
Zoom
Currently out of stock
 
SCROLL DOWN
TO EXPLORE MORE
 

Price: £16.99

Brand: Waterstones

 

Description: On the pivotal day of 14 June 1645 Charles I's Royalist Army and Parliament's New Model Army made battle at Naseby. Using first-hand accounts, Martin Marix Evans introduces the origins of the campaign, explores the strengths and weaknesses of the opposing armies, and vividly describes the engagement. The traditional condemnation of Prince Rupert's military strategy is undermined, and the significance of Okey's Dragoons in precipitating the action explained. He imparts his intimate knowledge of the terrain so crucial to the New Model Army's frontage, and uses archaeological and documentary evidence to piece together a remarkable blow-by-blow account of this devastating battle. Waterstones Naseby 1645 - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

 

Category: Books

Merchant: Waterstones

Product ID: 9781846030789

Delivery cost: 2.99

ISBN: 9781846030789

 
Waterstones logo
 
Currently out of stock
 

Similar Products

  • Lovereading The Naseby Horses

    Price: £8.09

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Naseby Horses. Paperback /softback. By Dominic Brownlow.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781999630539

     
  • Lovereading The Cretan War (1645-1671) The Venetian-Ottoman Struggle in the Mediterranean

    Price: £26.96

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Cretan War (1645-1671) The Venetian-Ottoman Struggle in the Mediterranean. Paperback /softback. By Bruno Mugnai.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781911628040

     
  • Lovereading Campaigns of the Eastern Association: The Rise of Oliver Cromwell, 1642-1645

    Price: £26.96

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Campaigns of the Eastern Association: The Rise of Oliver Cromwell, 1642-1645. Paperback /softback. By Laurence Spring.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781915113986

     
  • Lovereading Sri Lanka Paradise Lost; Paradise Regained

    Price: £18.00

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Sri Lanka Paradise Lost; Paradise Regained. Hardback. By Michael Naseby.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781912690749

     
  • Lovereading The Few Who Flew RAF National Service Pilots 1955-1957

    Price: £18.00

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Few Who Flew RAF National Service Pilots 1955-1957. Hardback. By Michael Naseby.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781914414480

     
  • Waterstones A Military History of the English Civil War

    Price: £34.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: A Military History of the English Civil War examines how the civil war was won, who fought for whom, and why it ended. With a straightforward style and clear chronology that enables readers to make their own judgements and pursue their own interests further, this original history provides a thorough critique of the reasons that have been cited for Parliament's victory and the King's defeat in 1645/46. It discusses the strategic options of the Parliamentary and Royalist commanders and councils of war and analyses the decisions they made, arguing that the King's faulty command structure was more responsible for his defeat than Sir Thomas Fairfax's strategic flair. It also argues that the way that resources were used, rather than the resources themselves, explain why the war ended when it did.

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 0.00

    ISBN: 9780582772816

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780582772816

     
  • Waterstones A A Postcard from Shakespeare's Avon

    Price: £14.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: Flowing for nearly 100 miles through gently rolling countryside at the very heart of England, the Avon is one of the most quintessentially English rivers in the country. Visiting places such as Naseby, Warwick, Stratford-Upon-Avon, Evesham and Tewkesbury, this book captures visions of the river as it used to be, from ye olde battlefields through to Edwardian tourism with, of course, plenty of Shakespearian history. A companion volume to the authors' A Postcard from the Severn and A Postcard from the Wye, this book takes the reader on a journey in words and pictures through the five counties traversed by the Avon, using images from more than 250 postcards drawn from the authors' collections - many posted to friends and relatives by some of the innumerable visitors to the river and its world-famous associated attractions. It is a record of how the river and its surroundings once appeared, and how they were immortalised by earlier generations of photographers and artists, printers and publishers. Waterstones A A Postcard from Shakespeare's Avon - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780750948487

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780750948487

     
  • Waterstones Five Rings

    Price: £9.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: Strategy is the craft of a warrior - Miyamoto Musashi Written around 1645, Miyamoto Musashi's Five Rings is a classic Japanese work on mastery in swordsmanship, leadership and conflict. Musashi was a swordsman, philosopher and strategist, and today his work remains of influence not only in the realm of martial arts but in the business world, too. Musashi's no-nonsense approach to the martial arts and combat includes eliminating technical flourishes, understanding that technique should simply be understood as defeating your opponent, and appreciating that the same qualities apply in both small- scale and large-scale conflicts. Repeatedly, he stresses the importance of learning through practice, rather than merely reading about them. Produced in a handy pocket format, Five Rings is presented in an exquisite illustrated edition with a brand new modern translation.

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781838862985

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781838862985

     
  • Waterstones The Revels

    Price: £16.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: The stage is set and the witch-hunt is about to begin. 'I am no witch. I have not sold my soul to the devil for powers. What I am has never openly been whispered of, yet it is enough that people would hang for it.'. England, 1645. After his half-brother dies, aspiring playwright Nicholas Pearce is apprenticed to Judge William Percival, an infamous former witch-hunter who is under pressure to resume his old profession. In a country torn apart by civil war, with escalating tensions between Catholics and Protestants, Royalists and Roundheads, and rumours of witchcraft, Nicholas hides a secret: the dead sing. He hears their secrets, but will he find the courage to speak up to save innocent lives, even if it means putting himself in great danger? A spellbinding debut novel perfect for fans of Stacey Halls, Laura Purcell and Bridget Collins. Waterstones The Revels - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780008566654

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780008566654

     
  • Waterstones The Witching Tide

    Price: £9.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: A superb writer' EMMA STONEX' Stylish and raw' ANNE ENRIGHT East Anglia, 1645. Martha Hallybread, a midwife, healer and servant, has lived for more than four decades in her beloved coastal village of Cleftwater. Everyone knows Martha, but no one has ever heard her speak. One morning, the peaceful atmosphere is shattered by a sinister arrival and Martha becomes a silent witness to a witch-hunt. As a trusted member of the community, she is enlisted to search the bodies of the accused women. But whilst Martha wants to help her friends, she also harbours a dark secret that could cost her own freedom. In desperation, she revives a wax witching doll that she inherited from her mother, in the hope that it will bring protection. But the doll's true powers are unknowable, the tide is turning, and time is running out. Waterstones The Witching Tide - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781399605878

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781399605878