The Book Depository Shiver (Shiver, Book 1) by Maggie Stiefvater

4.3 out of 5 stars
The Book Depository Shiver (Shiver, Book 1) by Maggie Stiefvater
Zoom
Currently out of stock
 
SCROLL DOWN
TO EXPLORE MORE
 

Price: £12.36

Brand: The Book Depository

 

Description: Shiver (Shiver, Book 1) : Paperback : Scholastic US : 9780545682787 : 0545682789 : 29 Apr 2014 : The first novel of Stiefvater's phenomenal New York Times-bestselling trilogy that chronicles the haunting romance between human girl Grace and Sam, a wolf that can shift into human form during summer. The Book Depository Shiver (Shiver, Book 1) by Maggie Stiefvater - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

 

Category: Books

Merchant: The Book Depository

Product ID: 9780545682787

MPN: 0545682789

GTIN: 9780545682787

 
The Book Depository logo
 
Currently out of stock
 

Author: Cassandra220689

Rating: 5

Review: This is a beautiful and unique love story which reaches into the unknown world of love between a girl and a wolf. Grace, having been attacked by the pack of wolves that live in the woods near her house, feels a close connection to them long after the attack from when she was young girl. In particular to one wolf who somehow saved her from them. From that day forward, the wolf watches over her like a sort of guardian angel and after 6 years of watching things begin to happen and the secrets of the wolf pack which frequent her forest come to light. It appears that the wolves are not just wolves... The book follows the building of that relationship with the wolf who saved her, called Sam. It is a journey which reveals more about the lives of the wolves and the pack and in particular Sam and his past. What is most beautiful though, is the unspoken love that has always been there for Grace or Sam, wolf or not and his struggle to hold on to Grace, reality and what makes him Sam. I liked that there was a change to the old stereotype of wolves in this book, with it showing that it is temperature that is their trigger instead of the moon. And Stiefvater makes a point of pointing out the temperature at the start of each chapter so you can get a hold on the situation, or the situation to come. This helped to build the tension and made for a gripping read as the temperature dropped or rose. This feature, of course, relates to the title of the book and you see why she has called it such with the progression in knowledge of the wolf pack. In addition, I really liked the idea that the eyes were the identifier for someone, and eyes play a large part in recognition in the story. The lead to an ending which was heartbreaking and one which made me cry with joy for the final twist. This is truly one for the collection with its unique twist on the paranormal romance scene. I am looking forward to the next book in the series; Linger which out on the 5th of July. Cassandra220689

 

Author: Ms. L. J. Braisby

Rating: 3

Review: When Shiver came in the mail, I was so excited to read it. I hated Twilight so I was psyched that is was probably going to be 100 times better as the storyline seemed to pop out at me! It has a great Storyline about Grace, who is cornered then attacked by a Pack of Wolves; only one distinctive Wolf saves her and drags her to safety. Ever since the event she has felt a strange connection to her Wolf, looking out for him every Winter. A local Boy gets attacked and killed in a way that is reminiscent to Grace, and even more alarming a rather gorgeous and strangely recogniseable young man appears scared and wounded on Grace's doorstep. His name is Sam; could he be exactly what Grace has been looking out for ever since time her small local town of Mercy Falls gets cold? Is there more than just friendship between Sam and Grace, and who might want to stand in the way of anything happening between the two? Can Sam stay human long enough before people get suspicious about The Wolves, and Sam's connection to them? You'll have to read to find out! I do believe another Lady who's written a review has said pretty much the same thing that I'm going to say, but, Shiver has an amazing beginning which gave me goosebumps and made me excited to turn every single page. I loved how the chapters are written in the first person of Grace or Sam, and it shows the temperature they're currently in. However, a few Chapters in the book starts dwindling in the sense that nothing much happens and the book becomes really cheesy, especially Sam's 'lyrics', which I felt were just plain tacky and kind of made me cringe throughout reading the story. Some of the stuff Grace and Sam say to each other is worthy of a cringe as well, it's just really... tacky! I decided, despite Shiver's bad points, to persevere with the story and was suitably impressed with the Ending, Shiver has a brilliant ending which made me sit open-mouthed in shock, and even a desire to read the next one, which I'm still debating to be honest. Also, the characters were very... flat. I felt no connection or desire to see the outcome of Grace, who frankly is quite boring. Sam is very bleak, even whiny, and the other Characters are just really neutral and don't stand out very much at all. The 3 stars I've given are purely for the excellent beginning and end, but the middle is just terrible and the characters aren't that great either. Overall disappointed. Still not sure about Book 2.

 

Similar Products

  • Scholastic Blue Lily, Lily Blue

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Scholastic

     
    3.5 out of 5 stars

    3 ratings

     

    Description: The third mesmerising book in Maggie Stiefvater's The Raven Cycle quartet. The third book in the mesmerising RAVEN CYCLE quartet from bestsellingauthor, Maggie Stiefvater. Fans of the SHIVER trilogy willlove this new quartet. For the first time in her life, Blue Sargent has found a placewhere she feels at home. The Raven Boys have taken her in as oneof their own and she is sure that this is where she belongs. But certainties can unravel. Visions can mislead. Andfriends can betray. The trick with found things is how easily they can be lost. Absolutely addictive writing for teen girls. and grown-up girls. Magic, mystery and adventure at every turn From the bestselling author of Shiver, Lingerand Forever which all debuted at #1 on the UK book bestsellercharts Film rights to The Raven Cycle have been acquired . Scholastic Blue Lily, Lily Blue - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781407136639

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781407136639

     
  • Templar Publishing Shiver Point: It Came from the Woods

    Price: £7.99

    Brand: Templar Publishing

     

    Description: Welcome to Shiver Point, home of spooks, screams and small-town horror! Enter if you dare. Shiver Point is boring. Nothing interesting ever happens there and there's never anything fun to do. At least that's what Alex has always thought. Until one night, in the dead dark, he spots what looks like a meteorite plummeting into Howlmoor Forest. Intrigued, Alex goes to investigate. But little does he know, four other kids have also spotted the strange streak in the sky: 'troublemaker' Oli, studious Sophia, curious Mo and budding engineer Riley. What they discover is far beyond their wildest dreams - in fact it belongs in their nightmares. Can the gang work together to save the town from the bloodthirsty bodysnatcher that's arrived with the meteorite before it's too late? One thing's for sure: Shiver Point will never be the same again. Templar Publishing Shiver Point: It Came from the Woods - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781800784772

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781800784772

     
  • Templar Publishing Shiver Point: A Tap At The Window

    Price: £7.99

    Brand: Templar Publishing

     

    Description: Welcome to SHIVER POINT, home of spooks, screams and small-town horror! Enter if you dare. When Riley notices a new scarecrow in the field by her house, she doesn't think much of it. Until she hears rumours of break-ins across town and strange figures sighted in the fields when the sun goes down. And then one night she hears a tap at the window. It's time to get the Shiver Squad on the case. But when all roads lead them to the abandoned Darkraven Farm, will they be able to save the town from the scarecrow's vengeance in time? Packed with chills and thrills, SHIVER POINT is a hair-raising horror series for readers aged 9-12, perfect for fans of GOOSEBUMPS and DREAD WOOD. Templar Publishing Shiver Point: A Tap At The Window - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781800784796

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781800784796

     
  • Lovereading That Was a Shiver, and Other Stories

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: That Was a Shiver, and Other Stories. Paperback /softback. By Mr James Kelman.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781786890924

     
  • Scholastic Linger

    Price: £5.99

    Brand: Scholastic

     
    3.5 out of 5 stars

    3 ratings

     

    Description: The #1 bestselling SHIVER, LINGER and FOREVER trilogy rejacketed for a new generation of fans. In SHIVER, Grace and Sam found each other. Now, in LINGER, they must fight to be together. But just when they manage to find happiness, Grace finds herself changing in ways she could never have expected. Scholastic Linger - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    ISBN: 9781407145778

     
    Scholastic logo

    Merchant: Scholastic

    Product ID: 94246

     
  • Lovereading Cornish Ghost Stories Shiver Your Way Around Cornwall

    Price: £3.59

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Cornish Ghost Stories Shiver Your Way Around Cornwall. Paperback /softback.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781902674476

     
  • Lovereading Yorkshire Ghost Stories Shiver Your Way Around Yourshire

    Price: £4.49

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Yorkshire Ghost Stories Shiver Your Way Around Yourshire. Paperback /softback.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781909914049

     
  • Lovereading Derbyshire Ghost Stories Shiver Your Way from Glossop to the Derby

    Price: £4.49

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Derbyshire Ghost Stories Shiver Your Way from Glossop to the Derby. Paperback /softback. By Jill Armitage.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781902674629

     
  • Lovereading Cotswolds Ghost Stories Shiver Your Way Around the Cotswolds

    Price: £3.59

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Cotswolds Ghost Stories Shiver Your Way Around the Cotswolds. Paperback /softback.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781909914070

     
  • Lovereading London Ghost Stories Shiver Your Way Around London

    Price: £4.49

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: London Ghost Stories Shiver Your Way Around London. Paperback /softback.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781909914384