Waterstones The Doolittle Raid 1942

Waterstones The Doolittle Raid 1942
Zoom
 
SCROLL DOWN
TO EXPLORE MORE
 

Price: £16.99

Brand: Waterstones

 

Description: In early 1942, the United States was reeling following Pearl Harbor and the Japanese dominated the Pacific and South-East Asia. America soon found the strength to strike back. On 18 April 1942, Colonel James Doolittle led 16 adapted B-25 Mitchell bombers in attacks on Tokyo, Yokohama, Kobe, and Nagoya. Although the material damage was relatively minor, the psychological impact in Japan and the United States was enormous. This book desribes the raid that acted as a turning point, breaking an endless string of American defeats. While further dark days lay ahead, the raid helped restore US pride and self-belief. Waterstones The Doolittle Raid 1942 - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

 

Category: Books

Merchant: Waterstones

Product ID: 9781841769189

Delivery cost: 2.99

ISBN: 9781841769189

 
Waterstones logo
 

My website utilises affiliate links when you click my 'Get the best deal now' buttons. If you buy something through one of these links, I may earn a little commission, at no extra cost to you.

 

I have relationships with many of the top online retailers (purchasing, shipping and returns will be handled directly by them) which enables me to offer the best deal online for the Waterstones The Doolittle Raid 1942 and many other similar products - which will appear below, to enhance your online shopping experience.

 

For even more great deals on Waterstones Books, click the link.

 

Similar Products

  • Lovereading The Doolittle Raid The First Air Attack Against Japan, April 1942

    Price: £13.49

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Doolittle Raid The First Air Attack Against Japan, April 1942. Paperback /softback. By John Grehan.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781526758224

     
  • Lovereading St Nazaire Raid, 1942

    Price: £18.00

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: St Nazaire Raid, 1942. Hardback. By Stephen Wynn.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781526736307

     
  • Lovereading The Greatest Raid St Nazaire, 1942: The Heroic Story of Operation Chariot

    Price: £9.89

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Greatest Raid St Nazaire, 1942: The Heroic Story of Operation Chariot. Paperback /softback. By Giles Whittell.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780241992258

     
  • Waterstones Tokyo 1944–45

    Price: £16.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: The full history of how the United States targeted and destroyed the Japanese capital from the air, in a ten-month long campaign by the US Army Air Force and the US Navy. In November 1944, the US Army Air Force launched a 111-plane B-29 strike against Tokyo, the first raid since the morale-boosting Doolittle Raid of 1942. From then until August 13, 1945, the United States would attack Tokyo 25 times, 20 from B-29s based in the Marianas and five from US Navy carrier task forces. The campaign included the single deadliest air raid in human history, when around 100,000 people were killed by the firestorm created by the Operation Meetinghouse raid of March 10, 1945. This book, the first to examine the full history of the United States' air campaign against the greatest target in Japan, looks at the USAAF's and US Navy's efforts to use air power to eliminate Tokyo's strategic value to the Empire. It considers how the campaign developed from daylight bombing to firebombing and anti-ship mining, and finally how the target was handed over to the US Navy, whose carrier-based bombers and fighter-bombers continued to strike Tokyo during July and August 1945. Using specially commissioned battlescenes, strategic maps and diagrams, this volume presents a detailed picture of how Tokyo was vanquished from the air. Waterstones Tokyo 1944–45 - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781472860354

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781472860354

     
  • Waterstones Dieppe 1942

    Price: £22.00

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: On 19 August 1942, an Allied amphibious raid took place on the coastal town of Dieppe in northern France, when a force of some 6,500 infantry soldiers, predominantly Canadian, and supported by a number of tanks were landed by ships of the Royal Navy under a blanket of cover provided by the RAF. The official reason for the raid was to capture the town's port, gather relevant intelligence, and destroy a number of coastal defences, port structures and other identified buildings. Allied authorities believed the raid would not only provide a much-needed boost to Allied morale, but also demonstrate to Stalin that Britain and the United States were serious in their commitment to opening a second front, in order to help the Soviet army fighting on the Eastern Front. It has also been suggested that the real reason for the raid was to capture a new German 4-rotor Enigma code machine, along with related code books. Whatever the reasons for the raid, it was an unmitigated failure. The German defences were more formidable than intelligence reports suggested they would be, Allied aerial and naval support was insufficient, meaning soldiers were unable to achieve their objectives, and most of the tanks failed to make it off the beaches. Indeed, due to the unexpected mounting casualties, the decision was taken to cut short the raid and evacuate the remaining men. Waterstones Dieppe 1942 - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781526714817

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781526714817

     
  • Waterstones The Pixies' Doolittle

    Price: £9.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: The Pixies have had a career unlike any other in alternative rock, disappearing as not-quite-the-next-big-things only to become gods in absentia. Doolittle is their knotty masterpiece, the embodiment of the Pixies' abrasive, exuberant, enigmatic pop. Informed by exclusive interviews with the band, Sisario looks at the making of the album and its place in rock history, and studies its continued influence in light of the Pixies triumphant reunion. Waterstones The Pixies' Doolittle - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780826417749

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780826417749

     
  • Lovereading The Dieppe Raid The Combined Operations Assault on Hitler's European Fortress, August 1942

    Price: £22.50

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Dieppe Raid The Combined Operations Assault on Hitler's European Fortress, August 1942. Hardback. By An Official History.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781526752918

     
  • Waterstones Selected Poems: Hilda Doolittle

    Price: £14.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: Like every major artist she challenges the readers intellect and imagination.--Boston Herald. Waterstones Selected Poems: Hilda Doolittle - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781857543728

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781857543728

     
  • Waterstones Japan’s Indian Ocean Raid 1942

    Price: £16.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: An detailed illustrated exploration of the Japanese raid into the Indian Ocean in April 1942 - one of the largest operations conducted by the Imperial Navy during the war. In the wake of Japan's conquest of Burma in early 1942, plans were formed by the Imperial high command to capture Ceylon (modern Sri Lanka) to consolidate Japan's defensive perimeter and disrupt British shipping lanes to India, Australia, and the Middle East. The Imperial Japanese Army, however, could not release sufficient troops for an invasion, and so in response the Japanese Navy developed Operation C, an aggressive raid by the Combined Fleet into the Indian Ocean. The key objective was to destroy the British Eastern Fleet in port. Expert naval historian Mark Stille documents the high point of Japanese naval air power as its carriers struck Ceylon - the heart of British naval power in the East - sinking several Allied ships. He describes the Allied air attempts to destroy Admiral Chuichi Nagumo's force, and the Japanese attacks against British shipping and the cities along the Indian coast. Specially commissioned battlescenes bring to life the sinking of British carrier Hermes, the Bristol Blenheim attacks on the Japanese carrier force, and a Zero vs Hurricane dogfight over Colombo on 5 April. Easy to follow maps and diagrams reveal the strategic situation at the start and end of the campaign, and track the movements of the Japanese carrier task force and the British Eastern Fleet throughout. Details of weaponry, equipment, personnel and the events of the fascinating battles that took place are revealed in over 60 photographs, many of which are from Japanese sources. Waterstones Japan’s Indian Ocean Raid 1942 - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781472854186

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781472854186

     
  • Waterstones The Air Raid Girls: Wartime Brides

    Price: £7.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: The third book in the Air Raid Girls series - a heart-warming new story of friendship, love and duty in wartime, perfect for fans of Nancy Revell and Donna Douglas. Spring, 1942. Lizzie is making plans for her wedding with fiancé Bill. But preparations during wartime aren't easy, and attacks on the Yorkshire port of Kelthorpe are only getting worse. Connie wants to be there for her sister, but she has troubles of her own - a secret that is driving a wedge between herself and those who love her. Meanwhile, Pamela faces new complications in her romance with Fred, and the arrival of two new RAF servicemen stirs up trouble. As bombs fall and friendships are tested, will the air raid girls keep their fighting spirit and find their happy endings? ---------------------------------------------Readers LOVE the Air Raid Girls series:' There wasn't anything I didn't like about this book' 5 star review' In all the women at war series of book I have read so far, I think this is the best' 5 star review'I couldn't put this book down' 5 star review' Loved the whole story. Hated it coming to an end' 5 star review' Just the kind of book I like' 5 star review. Waterstones The Air Raid Girls: Wartime Brides - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781529176520

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781529176520