Hachette Children's Group The Kiss of Death

4.8 out of 5 stars
Hachette Children's Group The Kiss of Death
Zoom
 
SCROLL DOWN
TO EXPLORE MORE
 

Price: £7.99

Brand: Hachette Children's Group

 

Description: A dark and gothic novel of vampires and 18th Century Venice, filled with mystery and intrigue. A captivating story of love and loss, THE KISS OF DEATH is a stunning companion volume to the bestselling MY SWORDHAND IS SINGING. Peter's ongoing search for the Shadow Queen leads him to Venice - the fabled city with lapping waterways, crumbling magnificence, dark, twisting alleyways and surprising piazzas. A city whose beauty disguises many ugly secrets. The Shadow Queen is there, gathering strength, recruiting a new army of the Undead for a final confrontation. Marko and Sorrel meet in Venice for the first time. They must uncover the mystery of what has happened both to Sorrel's father, who is plagued by a strange madness that prevents him from sleeping, and to Marko's father, a doctor, who has mysteriously gone missing after travelling to Venice to help his old friend. Hachette Children's Group The Kiss of Death - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

 

Category: Books

Merchant: Waterstones

Product ID: 9781842556894

Delivery cost: 2.99

ISBN: 9781842556894

 
Waterstones logo
 

My website utilises affiliate links when you click my 'Get the best deal now' buttons. If you buy something through one of these links, I may earn a little commission, at no extra cost to you.

 

I have relationships with many of the top online retailers (purchasing, shipping and returns will be handled directly by them) which enables me to offer the best deal online for the Hachette Children's Group The Kiss of Death and many other similar products - which will appear below, to enhance your online shopping experience.

 

For even more great deals on Hachette Children's Group Books, click the link.

 

Author: Amazon Customer

Rating: 5

Review: Great book couldn't put it down! If you haven't, read the first book my swordhand is singing ! Great for teens and adults!

 

Author: Dan Thompson

Rating: 3

Review: The Kiss of Death is one of those standalone sequels that doesn't really need you to HAVE read the first book - which I find annoying sometimes. I enjoyed My Swordhand is Singing, and was very much looking forward to seeing Peter gallivant off and slay some vampire-zombies. We are introduced to two new protagonists here though - Marko and Sorrel - in the beautiful setting of Venice. I very much liked the topsy-turvy ambiance the book threw at you however. Marcus Sedgwick has always been a fan of gothic, but the romantic setting of Venice is replaced and turned into a time when it housed people of the plague. It has a macabre feel to it. Peter does make a return though, which was good, but strange to be set when he is much older. He plays the burdened hero in the story, while the two youngsters just want to save their fathers - one who has gone missing, and the other who has mysterious illness. The Kiss of Death is a vampire novel without the vampires, which I found to be a little disappointing. The biggest thing that let the book down for me - for it is well written, has a nice pace, a decent story - is the actual missing antagonist. The Queen of Shadows rarely makes an appearance, and when she does, well, it is pretty tame. I wanted to see more of her. The Kiss of Death is unconventional in form, which does follow Sedgwick's trademark two fingers to the YA standard. Very much a Sedgwick fan's novel, in my opinion. It is certainly not his worst book, but then again, it isn't his best either.

 

Similar Products

  • Lovereading Kiss of Death

    Price: £7.19

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Kiss of Death. Paperback /softback. By Paul Finch.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780008243982

     
  • Lovereading Kiss Kiss

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Kiss Kiss. Paperback /softback. By Roald Dahl.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780241955345

     
  • Lovereading Kiss of Death True Cases of Fatal Attraction

    Price: £8.09

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Kiss of Death True Cases of Fatal Attraction. Paperback /softback. By Jean Ritchie.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781789292299

     
  • Avon Kiss of Death, Fiction, Paperback, Paul Finch

    Price: £14.99

    Brand: Avon

     

    Description: Could this be the end for Heck? The Sunday Times bestseller returns with an unforgettable crime thriller. Fans of MJ Arlidge and Stuart Mac Bride won't be able to put this down. Avon Kiss of Death, Fiction, Paperback, Paul Finch - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 129x198mm

    Keywords: romance,Crime Thriller s,Gritty crime,London Crime,Manchester,Vigilante justice,Sharp Objects,London,Manchester,Books for Men,books for summer,Courtroom drama

    ISBN: 9780008243982

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780008243982

     
  • Lovereading Death's Kiss Legend of the Five Rings: A Daidoji Shin Mystery

    Price: £8.09

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Death's Kiss Legend of the Five Rings: A Daidoji Shin Mystery. Paperback /softback. By Josh Reynolds.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781839080807

     
  • Lovereading Cajun Kiss Of Death A Cajun Country Mystery

    Price: £23.39

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Cajun Kiss Of Death A Cajun Country Mystery. Hardback. By Ellen Byron.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781643857381

     
  • Lovereading The Motherhood Penalty How to stop motherhood being the kiss of death for your career

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Motherhood Penalty How to stop motherhood being the kiss of death for your career. Paperback /softback. By Joeli Brearley.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781398508040

     
  • Andersen Press Ltd Blow a Kiss, Catch a Kiss

    Price: £12.99

    Brand: Andersen Press Ltd

     

    Description: A beautifully illustrated anthology of forty-four short poems by award-winning Joseph Coelho, designed to be shared together. Blow a kiss, catch a kiss when we are apart. Blow a kiss, catch a kiss put it in your heart. From Eye Caterpillars to The Journey Game, and from Dancing Families to Dreamtime, this collection of fun and heart-warming poems from award-winning children's poet Joseph Coelho are perfect for sharing everyday feelings and experiences. Andersen Press Ltd Blow a Kiss, Catch a Kiss - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781839131363

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781839131363

     
  • Lovereading One Kiss or Two The Art and Science of Saying Hello

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: One Kiss or Two? The Art and Science of Saying Hello. Paperback /softback. By Andy Scott. Lovereading One Kiss or Two The Art and Science of Saying Hello - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780715653197

     
  • Lovereading KISS KLASSIFIED WAR STORIES FROM A KISS ARMY GENERAL

    Price: £36.00

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: KISS KLASSIFIED WAR STORIES FROM A KISS ARMY GENERAL. Hardback.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9789198363708