Waterstones The Lady is a Spy: Virginia Hall, World War II's Most Dangerous Secret Agent

4.2 out of 5 stars
Waterstones The Lady is a Spy: Virginia Hall, World War II's Most Dangerous Secret Agent
Zoom
Currently out of stock
 
SCROLL DOWN
TO EXPLORE MORE
 

Price: £7.99

Brand: Waterstones

 

Description: Learn about Virginia Hall, the most dangerous of all Alliedspies, in this exciting narrative biography! Virginia never thought she'd be a spy. The young American hadbeen working for the State Department overseas when she was involvedin a serious accident. Despite this setback, Hall was eager todo something to help the Allies win World War II. She made her way to France where she helped coordinate undergroundresistance movements, sabotaging the Nazis at every turn. Hercovert operations, including capturing 500 Germans, greatly contributedto the Allies' eventual win. In The Lady is a Spy, award-winning author Don Mitchell(The Freedom Summer Murders) explores the fascinating lifeof America's greatest female spy. Thoroughly researched and full of rarely seen photographs from Virginia Hall's family, this is an extraordinary, in-depth lookat a true hero. Waterstones The Lady is a Spy: Virginia Hall, World War II's Most Dangerous Secret Agent - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

 

Category: Books

Merchant: Waterstones

Product ID: 9781407191386

Delivery cost: 2.99

ISBN: 9781407191386

 
Waterstones logo
 
Currently out of stock
 

Author: AnneCCarter

Rating: 5

Review: Another very brave lady!

 

Author: N Barnard

Rating: 3

Review: This book was a factual about this person but not the most well written book for entertainment. It was more factual than literary. This was on a 7th graders reading list.

 

Similar Products

  • Lovereading A Woman of No Importance The Untold Story of Virginia Hall, WWII's Most Dangerous Spy

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: A Woman of No Importance The Untold Story of Virginia Hall, WWII's Most Dangerous Spy. Paperback /softback. By Sonia Purnell.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780349010168

     
  • Waterstones Secret Agent Elephant

    Price: £6.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: Watch out, supervillains. There's a new spy in town. Secret Agent 00 Elephant has struggled through his secret service tests and how he's ready to take on his first spy mission: to find feline supervillain Vincent le Morte and stop him from destroying the world. He just needs to stay away from those mini pizzas. Good luck, Agent Elephant. The world is counting on you. AND REMEMBER: DO NOT GET DISTRACTED BY THE MINI-PIZZAS!. Waterstones Secret Agent Elephant - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781408354261

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781408354261

     
  • Waterstones The Accidental Secret Agent

    Price: £6.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: Schoolboy turns secret agent in this hilarious spy spoof! Before you read this, I want you to carefully check that no-one is reading over your shoulder - go ahead, do it now. First off, that was terrible - really obvious. If I'm going to tell you top secret government information, you're going to have to be a bit more stealthy. Try again. Was anyone looking? No? Right, then I'll begin. This year the secret service made a major mix up, they mistook a 13-year-old boy called Kevin for a secret agent (I know, so much for an 'intelligence' agency). This was the sort of kid that would try and zip wire across a building and end up falling head first into a fountain with his bum on show, so can you imagine what happened when he was allowed access to the amazing sort of spy gadgets that James Bond would use? Despite this, it was up to Kevin to save us all from an evil supervillain. It was the most dangerous, daring mission in the history of the secret service, and also its biggest blunder. This top secret book uncovers the entire story of Kevin's fateful and hilarious mission. Waterstones The Accidental Secret Agent - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780192744395

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780192744395

     
  • Scholastic Agent Moose #1: Agent Moose

    Price: £4.99

    Brand: Scholastic

     
    4.3 out of 5 stars

    25 ratings

     

    Description: Agent Moose, the best (worst) secret agent in the Big Forest, and his slightly-more-intelligent sidekick Owlfred are on the case in this new full colour graphic novel series. Scholastic Agent Moose #1: Agent Moose - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    ISBN: 9780702314391

     
    Scholastic logo

    Merchant: Scholastic

    Product ID: 138307

     
  • Waterstones Secret Agent Mole: Goldfish-Finger

    Price: £7.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: Max is a mole on a mission. With Helena Hippo and June Bug by his side, Max must stop the Goldfishfinger from stealing the priceless, solid gold fish-finger. This dangerous, top-secret mission will involve explosions, anaked mole rat, and being flushed down a GIANT toilet. Will Max and the team defeat the fiendish fish? It's time to ROCK and MOLE with this brand new black and whitegraphic novel series for 7+ readers Pacy, punny, FULL of adventure and unlikely animal friends, wedare you to put this one down Perfect for fans of AGENT MOOSE, BUNNY VS MONKEY and INVESTIGATORS. Waterstones Secret Agent Mole: Goldfish-Finger - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780702331312

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780702331312

     
  • Waterstones The White Lady

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: 1947. Elinor White, known locally as 'the White lady', is living a solitary, quiet life in a grace-and-favour cottage in the Kent countryside. Unbeknownst to her neighbours, she is the veteran of two world wars, a trained killer and former intelligence agent. Yet Elinor's private and seemingly tranquil existence conceals a past trauma that comes to the fore when she is drawn into the predicament of a local man entangled with one of the most dangerous crime families in London. A treacherous path lies ahead, but it may be one that ultimately leads Elinor to a future unshackled from her own painful history. Waterstones The White Lady - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780749029234

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780749029234

     
  • Scholastic Agent Handbook: World War Two

    Price: £3.99

    Brand: Scholastic

     
    4.7 out of 5 stars

    28 ratings

     

    Description: The Agent Handbook is packed with top-secret facts on World War Two! Filled with quizzes, amazing facts, statistics, timelines and fill-in fun, this is the perfect book for kids to explore every aspect of the World War Two. Scholastic Agent Handbook: World War Two - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    ISBN: 9781407193816

     
    Scholastic logo

    Merchant: Scholastic

    Product ID: 120418

     
  • Waterstones Murray Hall

    Price: £16.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: He kept his secret for a lifetime. Now the truth will rock New York. It is 1901, and Dr Gallagher has just pronounced Murray Hall dead. New York politico, gambler, womaniser - Hall is all these things, but when the press break the news of his death to the world, they reveal a side to his identity he never wanted known, a secret no one could have guessed. One journalist is determined to uncover the truth of Hall's past, but his search leads him down winding alleys of fact and fiction. From humble beginnings in Glasgow's tenements to a life spent rubbing up against New York's political elite, Murray Hall is the definition of a self-made man. But the higher his status rises, the higher the stakes become. Inspired by a true story, Murray Hall unearths a queer past erased by history, finally bringing all the puzzle pieces together to discover the secret of this extraordinary, ordinary man, which shocked New York, America and the world.

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781785304620

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781785304620

     
  • Waterstones The Traitor Among Us (Elena Standish Book 5)

    Price: £9.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: The fifth novel in Anne Perry's breathtakingly tense and exciting spy thriller series, featuring young British photographer and secret agent Elena Standish, set in the 1930s when the world was a place of increasing fear and uncertainty. As Hitler's influence spreads across Europe, the future of Britain is at stake. It is late summer 1934 when retired MI6 agent John Repton's body is found near Wyndham Hall in the Cotswolds. Repton was killed while investigating the Wyndham family's ties to fascist sympathisers, and Elena Standish is assigned to discover if one of them resorted to murder. Meanwhile, Elena's sister Margot is courting Lady Wyndham's brother and, unaware that Elena is a spy, Margot invites her to attend a house party at Wyndham Hall along with her colleague James Allenby, who masquerades as her suitor. As the atmosphere becomes increasingly tense, Elena and Allenby begin to expose the allegiances of the people in the house. But Elena is torn, for she knows that revealing the truth will protect the nation's security but could potentially destroy her sister's happiness. Waterstones The Traitor Among Us (Elena Standish Book 5) - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781472294555

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781472294555

     
  • Waterstones Agent Llama

    Price: £6.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     
    4.7 out of 5 stars

    4 ratings

     

    Description: Move over, Bond! There's a new hero in town - Charlie Palmer: super spy and fluffy llama! Charlie Palmer is a hotshot secret agent. Saving the world, fighting goons and looking cool while she does it is no big deal for her. Right now, she's on a top-secret mission to rescue a pair of. UNDERPANTS! Gadgets ready? Sunglasses on? Watch out, baddies! No villain is a match for this AWESOME llama! A hilarious and super stylish adventure from the incredible Angela Woolfe and Duncan Beedie. Perfect for fans of action-packed adventures like Supertato, Secret Agent Elephant and There's a Superhero in your Book. Waterstones Agent Llama - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781801040037

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781801040037