The Book Depository The Seamstress by Maria Duenas

4.2 out of 5 stars
The Book Depository The Seamstress by Maria Duenas
Zoom
Currently out of stock
 
SCROLL DOWN
TO EXPLORE MORE
 

Price: £9.99

Brand: The Book Depository

 

Description: The Seamstress : Paperback : Penguin Books Ltd : 9780670920037 : : 30 Aug 2012 : Spain, 1936 and the brink of civil war. Young, poor Sira Quiroga is swept up in a whirlwind romance with her wily love Ramiro. Fleeing Madrid together for Morocco, her love blinds her to his real failings. Soon abandoned, left penniless and in debt to the authorities, she has to rely on the one skill she still possesses: sewing. The Book Depository The Seamstress by Maria Duenas - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

 

Category: Books

Merchant: The Book Depository

Product ID: 9780670920037

MPN: 9780670920037

GTIN: 9780670920037

 
The Book Depository logo
 
Currently out of stock
 

Author: DevonRiverain

Rating: 5

Review: I was a little concerned to begin with as it did not seem to have much dialogue. However it was easy to get into and unput downable. The best book I have read in a long time.Please can we have more books Maria

 

Author: Ancass

Rating: 3

Review: Hmmmmm.... where do I start....did I enjoy the book, I'm not really sure whether I did or not. The plot was really great full of intrigue and interesting characters. The whole thing should have ripped along but strangely enough it didn't. I feel this book was too long, too padded out, there's padding and there's paaaaaadding. I found myself skipping pages that were just too full of boring useless detail. The book was full of colourful larger than life characters who never seemed to develop and yet the shallow self centred and snobbish Sira who was the least appealing was given full rein. I would have liked to have known more about the police commissioner Don Claudio who gave Sira so much help and also what happened to Candelaria and did Felix ever manage to get rid of his odious mother? What became of the lovely Rosalinda Fox and was she ever reunited with her beloved Juan Luis? The ending just seemed to fizzle out and I was left feeling a bit dissatisfied somehow. The American/English translation really grated with me and as a Scot I found the continuous references to the 'English' war effort EXTREMELY insulting considering that so many BRITISH young men and women gave their lives in the first and second world wars. The Seamstress will not go into my list of favourite books.

 

Similar Products

  • Lovereading The Seamstress

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Seamstress. Paperback. By Maria Duenas.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780670920037

     
  • Lovereading A Vineyard in Andalusia

    Price: £8.09

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: A Vineyard in Andalusia. Paperback /softback. By Maria Duenas.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781911344469

     
  • Avon The Forgotten Seamstress, Romance, Paperback, Liz Trenow

    Price: £9.99

    Brand: Avon

     

    Description: A stunning book set in the Edwardian era about a seamstress working at Buckingham Palace. Full of drama, betrayal and compelling historical detail, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Tracy Rees. Avon The Forgotten Seamstress, Romance, Paperback, Liz Trenow - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 129x198mm

    Keywords: love,story,snow,movie tie-ins,womens,popular,literary,literature and,genre,fiction,present,books for adults,and war,holidays,sagas,suspense,women writers and fiction,festive,Xmas,Winter,gifts,books in order,for,Christmas,s,best sellers,selling

    ISBN: 9780007480845

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780007480845

     
  • Waterstones Sira

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     

    Description: The charismatic protagonist from María Dueñas's international bestseller The Time In Between returns in a sweeping novel of love and intrigue set against the tumultuous aftermath of World War II. Former seamstress turned couturier turned spy Sira Quiroga is finally ready to embrace serenity with her British diplomat husband, Marcus, and the upcoming prospect of motherhood. But tranquility proves elusive. Fate has other plans for Sira. Installed in Jerusalem under the British Mandate, and enmeshed in the murky world of shady operators, political menace, and catastrophic violence, Sira finds her future with Marcus put to the ultimate test. Forced to reinvent herself again, Sira travels to England and adopts a new identity as a journalist dispatched to Spain. But as her skills at cunning duplicity are put into play, the ghosts of her past follow, bent on wreaking havoc in her life. Moving from turbulent Jerusalem and austere London to Franco's Madrid and colonial Tangier, and peopled with formidable real-life historical figures, Sira cuts an unforgettable path through the danger, stratagems, chaos, and promise of some of the most momentous events of the postwar era.

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781662501012

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781662501012

     
  • Lovereading The Seamstress and the Wind

    Price: £7.19

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Seamstress and the Wind. Paperback /softback. By Cesar Aira.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781908276841

     
  • Lovereading The Seamstress of New Orleans

    Price: £21.60

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Seamstress of New Orleans. Hardback. By Diane C. Mc Phail.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781496738158

     
  • Lovereading The Seamstress Of Sardinia

    Price: £9.89

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Seamstress Of Sardinia. Paperback. By Bianca Pitzorno.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781922330536

     
  • Lovereading The Forgotten Seamstress

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: The Forgotten Seamstress. Paperback. By Liz Trenow.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780007480845

     
  • Lovereading Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress

    Price: £8.09

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress. Paperback /softback. By Dai Sijie.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9780099286431

     
  • Waterstones Bloody Mary, Vol. 4

    Price: £6.99

    Brand: Waterstones

     
    4.9 out of 5 stars

    102 ratings

     

    Description: Bloody' Mary, a vampire with a death wish, has spent the past 400 years chasing down a modern-day exorcist named Maria who is thought to have inherited 'The Blood of Maria' and is the only one who can kill Mary. To Mary's dismay, Maria doesn't know how to kill vampires. Desperate to die, Mary agrees to become Maria's bodyguard until Maria can find a way to kill him. Another 'Mary' who resides within Mary turns out to be the one who killed Maria's father, Yusei. In search of why his father had to die, Maria tries to get in contact with 'Mary' but is unsuccessful. In the meantime, a mysterious man pays a visit to Maria and reveals how Maria's mother first met Yusei and provides crucial information about Maria's family lineage. . Waterstones Bloody Mary, Vol. 4 - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9781421584515

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9781421584515