The Book Depository The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

4.1 out of 5 stars
The Book Depository The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi
Zoom
Currently out of stock
 
SCROLL DOWN
TO EXPLORE MORE
 

Price: £9.36

Brand: The Book Depository

 

Description: The Star-Touched Queen : Paperback : St Martin's Press : 9781250100207 : 1250100208 : 28 Mar 2017 : What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you're only seventeen? Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of Death and Destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father's kingdom. The Book Depository The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

 

Category: Books

Merchant: The Book Depository

Product ID: 9781250100207

MPN: 1250100208

GTIN: 9781250100207

 
The Book Depository logo
 
Currently out of stock
 

Author: Joanne

Rating: 5

Review: Well this book certainly demands to be read in a couple of sittings - I couldn't put it down! The writing is absolutely gorgeous and while the story was a bit confusing to follow, the descriptions and magic made up for it. Maya is cursed but manages to escape a terrible fate when the mysterious Amar shows up. Soon she is learning about a whole new side to life and becomes a Queen herself, however doubt creeps in and that will be her downfall. As Maya's world is taken from her, she must find a way to get back her life and protect the world from evil. At no point was I bored - I was racing through the chapters to find out what happens! It's a truly beautifully written book and I can't wait for the sequel.

 

Author: Bex

Rating: 3

Review: A loose retelling of Persephone and Hades, largely told in beautiful prose (but definitely drifting into Purple Prose territory) with wonderful, colourful and slightly magical elements sprinkled through the world building. But, the writing is so damn pretty that for the most part not a great deal happens, the world just gets more and more colourful, and when something actually did happen it was so over dressed that I found myself pulling my mind out of the pretty words thinking, "What is actually going on?". Princess Mayavati has a bad horoscope, her future marriage is destined to be disturbed, partnered with death and all sorts of doom and gloom, and this bad vibe means a great deal to her people and her father the Raja. No pressure. Unfortunately their opinions of her are so low due to their superstitions, and their Kingdom is under lots of pressure to hold the fort, so the only way the Raja can solve this problem is to marry her off to an ally right? Well, that's what I thought too. Predictable YA. But you're wrong, he'd rather get her to drink some poison and kill her off. Fathers! Somehow Mayavati finds herself in the Night Bazaar, a place full of otherworldly creatures and stalls filled with mysterious items; she is heading to Akaran with the Raja, Amar. She is to be his new Queen of this underworld. Amar is largely quite mysterious which was fantastic for me - I love to be given tiny bits of information about a character, ever lost in trying to figure them out, rather than having the characters immediately swoon over each other, lock eyes and have some cringe-worthy insta-love. Chokshi absolutely nails the relationships she develops in this book to make them believable, but also to make you want more - a rarity in YA fiction where romance is involved. There are so many different threads to this story. Akaran and the duties required of it's rulers (Now Amar and Mayavati) are mysterious, unusual and highly creative - the descriptions of controlling someones fate are especially beautiful. The creatures within are unique, fun to read about and highly imaginative. Unfortunately, that's kind of the problem with this book (but really quite a small one, given how clever it is); the writing is so beautiful and the descriptions of what Mayavati can see and is surrounded by are woven so intricately and expressively that you actually lose track of what is really going on - the descriptions are almost too colourful, too distracting, that the plot suffers for it. Despite this, if you're willing to get sucked it in to a truly well-developed Night Bazaar with unpredictable characters and some highly original ideas then you absolutely should read this; its lovely to read and imagine all of the culture, smells and rich descriptions. But keep in mind you might lose your head in Akaran; it likes to play tricks on you.

 

Similar Products

  • HarperTeen Star Daughter, Teen & YA Books, Paperback, Shveta Thakrar

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: HarperTeen

     

    Description: A gorgeously imagined stand-alone YA fantasy for fans of Roshani Chokshi, Laini Taylor, and Neil Gaiman's Stardust. HarperTeen Star Daughter, Teen & YA Books, Paperback, Shveta Thakrar - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 135x203mm

    ISBN: 9780062894632

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780062894632

     
  • Lovereading Once More Upon a Time

    Price: £10.79

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Once More Upon a Time. Hardback. By Roshani Chokshi.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781728239828

     
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc Wicked Like a Wildfire

    Price: £7.99

    Brand: HarperCollins Publishers Inc

     

    Description: ' Lush. Delicious. Bewildering. And darkly magical. Popovic has created a world that you tumble into from the very first words and wish you could stay in forever." | ?? Evelyn Skye, author of The Crown's Game' Wicked Like a Wildfire was like devouring a succulent fairy fruit | ??it will rob your time, settle into your dreams, and leave you starving for more." | ?? Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen Fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo will be bewitched by Lana Popovic's debut YA fantasy novel about a bargain that binds the fates | ??and hearts | ??of twin sisters to a force larger than life. All the women in Iris and Malina's family have the unique magical ability or 'gleam" to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love. But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them. They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line | ??but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever? Wicked Like a Wildfire is the first in a two-book series. Readers will be rapt with anticipation for the sequel.

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780062436849

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780062436849

     
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc Star Daughter

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: HarperCollins Publishers Inc

     

    Description: * Chosen as a 2020 Kids' Indie Next pick * A Locus Reading List recommendation * An Andre Norton Nebula Award Finalist*' Shveta Thakrar's prose is as beautiful as starlight." | ?? New York Times bestselling author Holly Black This gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman's Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy. The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Pretending to be 'normal." But when an accidental flare of her starfire puts her human father in the hospital, Sheetal needs a full star's help to heal him. A star like her mother, who returned to the sky long ago. Sheetal's quest to save her father will take her to a celestial court of shining wonders and dark shadows, where she must take the stage as her family's champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens | ??and win, or risk never returning to Earth at all. Brimming with celestial intrigue, this sparkling YA debut is perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Laini Taylor. . HarperCollins Publishers Inc Star Daughter - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: 2.99

    ISBN: 9780062894632

     
    Waterstones logo

    Merchant: Waterstones

    Product ID: 9780062894632

     
  • Lovereading Three Kisses, One Midnight A story of magic and mayhem set around Halloween

    Price: £8.09

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Three Kisses, One Midnight A story of magic and mayhem set around Halloween. Paperback /softback. By Evelyn Skye, Roshani Chokshi, Sandhya Menon.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781529354478

     
  • HarperTeen The Dream Runners, Teen & YA Books, Paperback, Shveta Thakrar

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: HarperTeen

     

    Description: A lush tapestry of dreams, myth, and magic | ??perfect for fans of Holly Black, Roshani Chokshi, and Margaret Rogerson. HarperTeen The Dream Runners, Teen & YA Books, Paperback, Shveta Thakrar - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 135x203mm

    ISBN: 9780062894670

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780062894670

     
  • Inkyard Press Kingdom of Sea and Stone, Hardback, Mara Rutherford

    Price: £12.99

    Brand: Inkyard Press

     

    Description: The highly anticipated sequel to Mara Rutherfords stunning YA fantasy debut, Crown of Coral and Pearl, in which a young woman from a village on the sea must impersonate her twin on land to save everyone she loves from a tyrannical prince. Perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi, Laura Sebastian, and Sarah Tolcser. Inkyard Press Kingdom of Sea and Stone, Hardback, Mara Rutherford - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 148x222mm

    ISBN: 9781335146519

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9781335146519

     
  • KTegenBks Bone Crier's Dawn, Teen & YA Books, Paperback, Kathryn Purdie

    Price: £8.99

    Brand: KTegenBks

     

    Description: Ailesse and her friends change the afterlife in the gripping finale to the Bone Crier's Moon duology from New York Times bestselling author Kathryn Purdie | ??perfect for fans of Stephanie Garber and Roshani Chokshi and now available in paperback!. KTegenBks Bone Crier's Dawn, Teen & YA Books, Paperback, Kathryn Purdie - shop the best deal online on thebookbug.co.uk

    Category: Books

    Delivery cost: Spend £20 and get free shipping

    Dimensions: 135x203mm

    ISBN: 9780062798817

     
    Harper Collins logo

    Merchant: Harper Collins

    Product ID: 9780062798817

     
  • Lovereading Touched

    Price: £4.49

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Touched. Paperback /softback. By Ian Marriott.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781788641364

     
  • Lovereading Everything She Touched

    Price: £19.79

    Brand: Lovereading

     

    Description: Everything She Touched. Hardback. By Marilyn Chase.

    Category: Books

     
    LoveReading logo

    Merchant: LoveReading

    Product ID: 9781452174402